13 Days


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Kansas City
May 16th 2008
Published: May 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I've officially completed my first year of med school. It's a bit surreal having a year behind me, being one step closer to having the responsibility of being a physician, and knowing that I still have a lot of learning ahead of me. Our last exams were yesterday, and I'm pretty sure I'll end up passing them. That said, I can now focus all of my attention on preparing for going to Kenya. I'll spend the next couple days in McPherson followed by a couple days in St. Louis. We are to report to Indianapolis on May 28th where we'll have a week of orientation before leaving on June 4th. I'm still not sure on the specifics of what we will be doing in Nairobi, but I am sure of a few things:
1) I won't be in front of this laptop which has become my mistress for the past 10 months
2) I won't be worrying about sticking my face in front of the fire hydrant of information coming toward me
3) I will be in a culture completely foreign to my own and radically different than KCK or KUMed
4) I will be forced to submit to God and sit at His feet so that I can be broken, taught, and reformed
I can't wait. I hope that my time in Kenya is fruitful. I hope that I am humble and open to God's will. I hope that God is able to use me to enrich and empower the lives of the people I interact with. I hope for many more things than that, but that'll do for now. On the fundraising side, all of you and many others have helped raise 57% of the total cost. I am so thankful and humbled at your wonderful support. It is more than I could have hoped for. I am so glad to have you participate in this ministry with me. I'll try to be diligent in keeping everyone informed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb