home in Hutch


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Hutchinson
July 17th 2006
Published: July 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

hi! my sister just got back from Quito, Ecuador, and sent out a bulk email to let people know she was home. Well, I've been back from Africa for about two months, so I guess it's about time I do the same, just in case anyone thinks I'm still abroad.
And here's some more pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

dancing in the back room of the mutualdancing in the back room of the mutual
dancing in the back room of the mutual

that's my Kaolakoise host mom, Astou, in white on the left. She was the president of the mutual where I worked
Mutual TerangaMutual Teranga
Mutual Teranga

sitting in the lobby of the mutual after work with Dame and Alassane. Yep, all the walls were pink!
Mutual TerangaMutual Teranga
Mutual Teranga

having a couple afternoon glasses of attaya (senegalese tea - yum!) with my manager, Nene
village finance meetingvillage finance meeting
village finance meeting

some of the beautiful women of Ngathie and Gahone getting a loan from the mutual. Some of them had their lips and gums are tatooed blue as girls. Also intricate hairstyles like these were popular.
village finance meetingvillage finance meeting
village finance meeting

These two are loan officers. I worked a lot with Leoni (in teal).
Pappa SeyePappa Seye
Pappa Seye

with my host dad in the courtyard in Kaolack
KaolackKaolack
Kaolack

evening view from our rooftop
Awa and IAwa and I
Awa and I

my big sister Awa and I in Kaolack, back at home after a wedding party
KaolackKaolack
Kaolack

a griot (traditional storyteller/musician) at the wedding.
KaolackKaolack
Kaolack

Awa and I attempting to make some African-style pizza in our kitchen at Kaolack
Ceebujen!Ceebujen!
Ceebujen!

Eating that delicious senegalese rice and fish with Tamsir and Awa
KaolackKaolack
Kaolack

on the road outside of Kaolack
ToubaTouba
Touba

girls outside the mosque at Touba
spring breakspring break
spring break

getting ready to wash our horses after a coastline gallop in Cap Skirring. I look like a little boy in my helmet.
spring breakspring break
spring break

view from the patio of our hostel, which was called "Le Paradise"
AntoninAntonin
Antonin

with my host dad in Dakar before my flight home
RosaRosa
Rosa

with my host mom in Dakar


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb