Mr. Song Harvesting Wheat in Kansas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Garfield
July 8th 2007
Published: July 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Mr. Song Harvesting Wheat in Kansas
Mr. Tran Song, in country representative for the Library Project of Vietnam came to Kansas in 2006 and experienced a little of our harvest.
A big thank you to Kate Hildebrand of Edmond Oklahoma who gave me pointers on how to add video to my travel blogs. I am making a couple of entries to try it out before I go traveling again.
Thanks Kate and thank you Mr. Song for what you do.

Advertisement



9th July 2007

Mr Song and the Harvest
I can't believe our friend got to harvest wheat and i grew up in Kansas without ever driving a combine. I've scooped wheat , beans and corn but never harvested. Kent, you have a heart of gold. Hope you are feeling better. Rotary awarded me the Silent Rotarian Award 2 weeks ago. I was shocked to receive it, just doing the right thing like all of us. Lucky Mr. Song, we live in a Greaaaaatttttt! Country!!!!!!! Mike Meyer
10th July 2007

I've never done it before
I've never seen wheat before, let alone driving a combine and harvesting wheat!!!!!!!!!! Kent Converse gave me an oppotunity to see the US from another angle. I felt so familiar with the smell of straw and grain and soil ... the smell that reminded me of Vietnam. Was it strange that a Vietnamese "country pumpkin" experienced harvesting wheat in Kansas state?

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb