Westward Bound


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Des Moines
July 31st 2009
Published: July 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well a little bit has gone on since the last update. We went up to New Hampshire and parked. I had a buddy up there that was also an early retireee from American but I had never met him. We visited a bit and he took us up to Portsmouth for some jazz and a drink. Marilyn and I also made it all the way into Maine for some lobster. Maine is a lot like Washington state really. Green and raining most of the time. It would be good for fishing and hunting. We were parked at Hampton Beach State campground. It is dry camping only but it was right on the beach so that part was good. It is very busy here this time of year because the season is so short. Anyway, it was about this time that I got a call from my brother saying that my Mom was not doing well at all. She is 85 now and has been up and down like a new brides gown now healthwise for several years. It is not looking good at all this time however. So my friend Paul gave me a ride to Boston airport and I flew to California for 5 days to check in on her while Miss Marilyn held down the fort and looked after these two varmints of mine. I then flew back and started driving west. It hasn't been all that big of an interruption because we were going to head west anyway and once you get into the midwest there isn't a lot to see except corn anyway. We are currently in Des Moines Iowa. I estimate we will be back out west in another 4 days or so. We probably would have done Deadwood and Mount Rushmore and Yellowstone under normal circumstances, but that is okay because it gives me a good reason to head out that way next summer to do those places. Sorry about not having any pictures this time, but every one has seen corn I'm sure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb