Home Sweet Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Des Moines
June 9th 2007
Published: June 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am back, in one piece. On the last flight home, Wayne Co. Detroit airport lost my luggage, which was a less than jubilant return after a long, long flight. Fortunately, after some discussion, it was returned later that night. Good deal. I was scared of my own bad luck, and had packed everything important but dirty laundry in my carry on, so it wasn't a huge scare.

Without waxing weary, wiser traveler... the airports in the United States were disturbing because of how rude they were to foriegners. When we flew in China, no one knew any words past hello & a garbled thank you, but everyone was so kind & polite even if they had no idea what we were saying. The attendents in the states were rude, condescending, and curt almost across the board.... What a downer. Air China gets 5 stars from me. Even if the men spat.

Anyways, it's been nice to come back & eat things I'm used to. I've uploaded pictures for anyone who wants to see them... sorry there are so many, you'll have to weed through them. I don't have time to caption them since I'm at a cafe uploading them (no internet at the new apartment), so email me or comment if you have any questions!

Pictures: http://www1.snapfish.com/share/p=19891181433194223/l=268545044/g=36165041/otsc=SYE/otsi=SALB

sorry, you have to have snapfish to look at them... but i don't know how else to show them for free! besides, now you can order some & post them on your walll...... right!

I'd like to publish an online THANK YOU to my parents for funding the trip. And an apology to my mom for calling at midnight because my camera broke and all she could hear was ".....broken!!....freaking out!!....". Thank god she has enough level headedness to sort out, mid sleep, that i hadn't broken my head. Everyone should have such generous, great parents as I.

I hope that everyone gets a chance to visit China... it was crazy, beautiful, dirty, and eye opening. I am sorry that my blog posts were so abbreviated all the time, and I'm sure if you ask me in person I'll ramble about one story or one city for hours. Thanks for reading, and hopefully enjoying.... Until my next trip, steff.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb