Anticipation and a little confession


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Valparaiso
January 9th 2009
Published: January 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alright so I am extremely excited as I have only three weeks left until I leave for la belle France! However I do have a little confession to make. For those of you who don't know in order to study abroad in France you have to apply to CampusFrance in order to obtain your visa, and their response takes at least three weeks. Well....I just sent that off yesterday...by express mail though so that will help a little bit and even though I've heard of some people having problems with CampusFrance for the most part I think my friends this year have had a rather easy time of it. So I am not too worried about that.
Anyway done with confession and back to the excitement! I actually just had a friend return from going to Paris for the holidays, and besides stating the obvious (that Paris is expensive) she said that I was going to love it there. This just makes me want to leave tomorrow, which unfortunately I cannot do.
Alright now to some housekeeping things (sorry if I seem to jump around a bit I've been told that I'm scatterbrained/random). I think I might have mentioned that I go to Valparaiso University. Well we have an exchange program with l'Université de Cergy-Pontoise and that I where I'm going. Now as to where that is I'm not positive. I'm sure people have told me but after they mention France I'm pretty much in lala land. From what I've managed to pay attention to it's around an hour train ride outside of Paris (NW possibly). Our exchange agreement allows for two people from their university to come to ours in the fall and then for two of us to go in the spring. However it's a loose agreement as last spring four students from our university went and this year not only did they have two students here for fall semester but one who is staying the whole year: Sophie, la plus meilleure française! (and yes I realize that is grammatically incorrect).
This year there will be three of us flying out: Liz, Alysha, and moi, bien sûr! Originally it was just going to be Liz and yours truly. However our exchange program director convinced Alysha to come with us instead of graduating as she was planning on so was very excited about that despite many vicious jokes made by her at my expense this past semester (larmes).
D'accord well I think that is enough for today. Or at least for this entry maybe I'll make another one later.
A bientôt!

Advertisement



9th January 2009

45 min de train oui
16th January 2009

have you gotten anything back from CF yet?

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb