2011 Mid Life Crisis Tour


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Indianapolis
August 27th 2011
Published: August 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My next bike?My next bike?My next bike?

Checking out the new K1600GT at the BMW display.
I got up about 7 a.m., showered and rode to Shaprio's Delicatessen for breakfast with my Indianapolis BMW Club friends. Ordered turkey hash from the bizarre-looking cashier with the heavy blue eye shadowed raccoon eyes.
Rich arrived from his triathlon about 10 a.m. and we headed for the track about an hour later. The traffic management this year was remarkably good and we got good parking spaces in the infield.
We cruised the vendors and I picked up some accessories for the GoPro HD video camera - a spare battery, a 16GB SD card and a chest mounting strap.
The bike events were fun, especially the H-D race at the end of the day.
The bad news came when I pulled my Garmin Zumo 550 out of the tank bag, which had been stuffed into my right saddlebag all day. It appears the heat fried the circuitry because it refused to turn on when placed in its cradle and wouldn't work on battery power outside of the cradle. After much fretting and gnashing of teeth, I resolved to buy a new Zumo 550 from Amazon.com for $604 and have it shipped to me at Lauri and Jim's house south of Crawfordsville.
Carramba!Carramba!Carramba!

A Mexican cruiser nightmare.
It's scheduled to arrive sometime Tuesday, so that's where I'll be from Sunday evening until at least Tuesday.
Rich and I dined at Wendy's and bought a 30-pack of PBR at Meijer's.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb