Time is getting short...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » O'Fallon
May 9th 2012
Published: May 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So Mike and I are less than a month out before we head off for our great adventure. I’ve been checking the wx lately in Dawsons Creek, Fairbanks, and Coldfoot, and have been very encouraged by the temperatures. Much warmer already than I expected, so that means the snow should be gone, and give the road crews more time to fix them before we get there (a nice thought anyway). I think we’re ready, and have just about completed our planning. We have passed the GPS routing back and forth, so it is about as good as it’s going to get. We’ve compared notes on what each is taking for tools, electronics, to amount of clothes. <span> Pretty sure we won’t look too much like the Beverly Hillbillies traveling down the road, unless Mike brings a guitar along. Just a matter of counting down the days now. Mike picked up a GoPro camera, so now we’ll have additional views to post along the way. I was told by my wife when I started racking up bills for this trip that it was “the Year of Jim”. And it has been a pretty good year so far, but I’m pretty sure Mike has surpassed me in taking advantage of our wives generosity and understanding. (Girl’s, next trip, we won’t need to buy so much gear, as we’ll both have it all, unless there are newer, better versions out there. <span>;-)) The only real change to the plan since the last post is in the interest of having more time in Alaska, we’re going to get Mike membership in the Iron Butt Assn (http://ironbutt.com/about/default.cfm). Day two we’ll go from Sioux Falls, SD to North Battleford, Saskatchewan, for a one days ride of 1058 miles. Minimum requirements for IBA is a Saddlesore 1K, 1000 miles within a 24 hour period. For that you can see your name on the website and get a license plate holder. If you’re thinking why, right now, it’s just one of those “because I can” type endeavors. I suspect my next entry will be the Bon Voyage message the night of 4 June as I’m trying to sleep, but too excited about getting on the road. 27 Days!

Advertisement



9th May 2012

The Year of Jim
I like the concept. I'm 2.5 years from 50 -- guess I gotta start planning The Year of Ann. Although I think my husband probably thinks that's been every year we've been married! Looking forward to those first road shots from you and Mike.
9th May 2012

Be safe
Wish I was running with you. Post pics, and send the spot on.
9th May 2012

Be Safe.
Jim, Things you may forget: Battery for you key fob. Quick fix tire patch. Please post pics and vids. Send the spot on. Still thinking about running with for the first leg or two. Rob

Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0776s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb