Last Morning in London, then back to America


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Moline
March 29th 2010
Published: July 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

London to home


London, EnglandLondon, EnglandLondon, England

Me outside of Abbey Road Studios, London. The world-famous studio is the white building above my head. One of the coolest things I have ever done. With hands in pocket I guess I am John Lennon?
Monday, March 29th was the end of a great three weeks. Travel buddy, and veteran traveler, Ann was nice enough to help make a dream of mine come true. I had attempted two times to get up early enough in the AM to get to Abbey Road Studios before the street became too crowded with cars and Beatlemaniacs. I had failed her twice, having too much fun the previous nights to get up on time. Between Ann’s patience and my love for The Beatles NOTHING was stopping me today.

At what seemed like the crack of dawn, Ann and I grabbed a cab and headed to NW8. Abbey Road Studios is of course the world-famous recording studio where The Beatles recorded over 200 songs. Once at Abbey Road we signed our names on the pillar which can be seen just above George Harrison’s head on the famous 1969 album cover. We were surprised to see the security gate was wide open. I had just enough time to stand in the doorway and pose for a photo, an angry security guard abruptly chasing us off the property and closing the gate. We took turns crossing the iconic crosswalk, then heading back
London, EnglandLondon, EnglandLondon, England

Abbey Road Studios, London. The Beatles at the "Abbey Road" photo shoot in 1969
to the hotel.

Packing was depressing. As I packed three weeks worth of souvenirs carefully into my duffle bag, I thought back on something one of the Drake professors had said to us prior to leaving America for Europe; “This will be life changing.” It truly was, in more ways than I care to explain today. All I can say is that if you ever have the chance to do something like this: find a way.

The ride back was something I wasn’t looking forward to. Not that the Delta flight was bad, it’s just that being on a plane for that many hours can only be described as boring and uncomfortable. I watched a movie (“Men Who Stare at Goats”), listened to music on my iPod, and tried in vain to fall asleep. We had a layover in Minneapolis, Minnesota. From there I made the short flight to the Moline - IL airport. Home sweet home 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

London, EnglandLondon, England
London, England

Album cover for "Abbey Road" by The Beatles (1969). Ranked #14 on Rolling Stone Magazine's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time list, one of five Beatles albums in the top-20 but who is counting?
London, EnglandLondon, England
London, England

Me at Abbey Road Studios, London
London, EnglandLondon, England
London, England

Abbey Road Studios, London
London, EnglandLondon, England
London, England

The Beatles at the "Abbey Road" photo shoot in 1969
London, EnglandLondon, England
London, England

Me across the street from Abbey Road Studios, London. The same building The Beatles were standing next to!
London, EnglandLondon, England
London, England

Across the street from Abbey Road Studios, London


20th July 2010

Great job here Joe.

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb