Flying from Chicago to Hong Kong


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 12th 2017
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 41.8861, -87.6364

As we waited to board the plane, Glenn went to purchase some compression socks for us to use while flying on the 16 hour flight from ORD to HKG

I watched the plane get DE-iced.

Glenn and I sat in the coach section of the plane.  Cathay Pacific is the Hong Kong National Airlines.  The service was very good.  The 777 was a nice place.  There was about 60 seats in first class/business and then probably about 200 back in coach.

We were situated in the first part of the economy section.  The format was 3 seats, isle, 3 seats, isle and another 3 seats.  I had the window seat, Glenn was in the middle, and on the isle was a cute old lady (about 70 years old), traveling by her self.  She is from the Philippines, lives 1/2 the time in Honolulu, Hawaii and 1/2 the time in Chicago.  Mary was her name.  A sweet Christian lady.  I showed her the 3 hour cross stitch sampler I make, and asked her to pick which one she liked the best.  She chose, "This is the day that the Lord hath made".  I figured with a 16 hour flight ahead of me, I would have time to cross stitch the 3 hour project for her.  I just wish I had taken a photo of Mary.  We have her email address.  She gave me a Hawaii calendar and some macadamia nuts.

Cathay Pacific served us 2 meals during the long flight.  The first was a dinner meal about an hour after we flew from Chicago airport.  Of course it has rice.  I had ordered a Stew meal.  Glenn ordered the beef option.  We had ice-cream cone, which reminded me of the Bressler bar, Magnum.

The flight was EXTREMELY long.  It did seem that the flight went quicker the last 1/2 of the trip.  The movie section was not good at all.  There were many English humor movies, which I don't get at all.  I think I started watching 3 movies and never finished them. 

I did get up like every two hours to walk to the BACK of the plane, to stretch my legs, go to the bathroom, and just "move".  I did sleep more the last 1/2 of the trip.  I probably slept a total of 3-4 hours.l


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb