Longest Valentines day ever


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 15th 2014
Published: June 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

So we landed in the US of A and after processing thru customs headed to our gate. We sat and read killing time until the gate would open and we would be on our way. Just when we were ready to board the airline came over the speaker and announced that our flight was cancelled. I hoofed it down to guest services and got in line with every one else, leaving Caroline to catch up. She was a little miffed that I rushed ahead but understood when she saw the line behind me. We processed through the line for an hour all the while trying to contact United via the phone or the website. Eventually we received and E-Mail announcing we had been re-booked... for 3 days from now... that was not going to fly.
I contacted my credit card company to check if I had any flight insurance and thank goodness, I did. They said they would pay for a hotel room and a rental car or anything else I needed up to $500. Fantastic. I called Enterprise and booked a car and just about that time we reached the counter. The attendant said that there were no flights they could get us on that day and Cincinnati was still out of the question for tomorrow. I asked about Lexington and lo and behold, there was space on a flight there tomorrow morning. I said we will take it! We arranged for our bags to travel with us (supposedly... it didn't happen) and stepped away to find us a hotel.
God bless Hilton and their employee travel program. I booked us into the Hilton at the O'Hare airport and we did not even have to exit the building, there was an underground passage to the hotel. We were soon checked in and decided we needed a bite of real food and maybe a glass of wine, after all today is STILL Valentines day, same as it was 30 hours ago when we started this journey.
I was doubly excited by getting to see some of the Olympic coverage for the first time this biennial. Skeleton sledding is so much fun.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb