A5 RIHLA #22


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 7th 2013
Published: April 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

A Story.

I had promised myself I would just read for fun. I was looking forward to spring break to buy new books. I was unable to buy from Barnes and Noble or any other library. " I have to read, NOW", I said. I woke up to a calm Thursday morning, got ready and headed out. The only store where I could get books with a low,low price was the Thrift Store which was two blocks away from my house.When I got there, I headed straight to the books section and it was full. I took around half an hour to see the books, and the ones that I wanted to buy. It was very difficult to choose, but finally, only bought nine. I felt like I was walking slowly, sometimes quickly, with the heavy weight of more than a thousand pages by my side. I stood still minutes later waiting for the light to turn green so I could walk. In less than a second, I heard a loud "BAM", and felt my bag become terribly light. Quickly, I stared down, and my books were all scattered on the concrete floor. Feeling all eyes on me, and my face becoming red like an apple, I knelt down and rapidly started picking my books. I felt like the world stopped and no one moved. Suddenly, I saw a pair of legs bending down, a pair of hands gathering my books. When the concrete floor looked inpecable, we both stood... and then I saw him. My best and oldest friend. He was there, standing in front of me, about 4 inches taller than me. But the same hair, the same face that I had last seen, since eighth grade. At first he looked shocked and surprise. But it didn't take long for him to say " Hey Curls", with a huge smile, the type of greeting that he always said when we saw each other, and the two-word phrase that brought so many memories. And that's when we hugged and I knew I had my best friend back. He took the books from me, put them all in his back pack, and we headed home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0917s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb