RIHLA #19


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 25th 2013
Published: February 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

1. The article that I read was called Day of the Dead History. This article was about how some people honor death in another way besides having a funeral. The way that this article explains it, is that the people go to the gravesite of their friend or loved one that has past away and they would decorate the grave. Also people would make either a wooden skull, which was placed on altars that were dedicated to the dead, or make a sugar skull with the name of the dead person on the forehead. A relative or friend eats the sugar skulls.

2. My reaction to this article is that I feel more informed. I feel this way because when I was in grammar school, my teacher asked the class how many of us celebrate Day of the Dead and people raised their hand. I was very confused because I had no clue what this was. But, now since I have read this article, I am more informed as to what Day of the Dead really is.

3. This connects to class because we are currently learning about how the Spanish Conquistadors came and conquered parts of Mexico and how they tried to change the religion that was being practiced there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0946s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb