Imaginary lightbulbs and bhangra beats


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
June 24th 2006
Published: July 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Priya and David's WeddingPriya and David's WeddingPriya and David's Wedding

Kumar and Aunty Helen
A day like any other really, except this was the day that Priya and David would finally tie the knot. It was sunny out, which boded well, and much of the morning was spent dolling ourselves up and ensuring our cameras were charged and memory cards free and ready to go. Priya is the first from this side of the family to get married, and my whole family had turned up for the event. From my grandmother who flits around from America to Australia to India following the sun, to relatives I didn’t even know existed other than in a vague intellectual sense in the back of my mind. Luckily it’s Indian tradition to call anyone older than you ‘aunty’ or ‘uncle’, which saved a lot of embarrassing moments that could have arisen from not knowing if the old man or woman I was speaking to at any point in time was actually related to me or not.

Priya looked gorgeous. A white strapless dress and hair half-up framing her face. David stood at the front of the room looking so pleased as Uncle Shirish walked Priya down the aisle. Sofia and Alisha never quite understanding the idea of throwing petals on the floor, abandoning the baskets and holding hands tightly, smiling big smiles as they rushed quickly to where Aunty Lisa was sitting at the front of the room. Vows exchanged, rings, a kiss and then back down the aisle as husband and wife

On to the reception room, where the house drink was a mojito. Now I don’t particularly like mojito’s, however it was still slightly galling that I couldn’t have had one even if I wanted to, because apparently I hadn’t learned from the rehearsal dinner and hadn’t brought my identification with me here either. Serves me right, I suppose.

Yash and I spent the afternoon looking after Sofia and Alicia, the girls twisting us around their little fingers for their every whim. At one point I looked up to see both Yash and Vivek surrounding Alisha, her sitting on a random pedestal being amused by them like every bit the little princess in pink she looked like. But then, Yash has always been a sucker for playing with cute babies.

At the reception dinner, after the meals were cleared and the speeches done, the music began and Priya and David burst back into the room garbed in traditional Indian dress as bhangra beats boomed in the background. Priya in red and David in a fabulous black suit bhangra danced their way to the centre of the room. This, of course, went down particularly well with the Indian contingent, and soon they were all on the dance floor, arms in the air, twisting imaginary lightbulbs in and out of their sockets.

Yash and I too ‘cool’ to join in, but amused nevertheless. If only I had video footage - brilliant blackmail material if ever I saw it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Priya and David's WeddingPriya and David's Wedding
Priya and David's Wedding

the married couple
Priya and David's WeddingPriya and David's Wedding
Priya and David's Wedding

Uncle Prakash, Uncle Pradeep, Vivek
Priya and David's WeddingPriya and David's Wedding
Priya and David's Wedding

Uncle Shirish, Priya
Priya and David's WeddingPriya and David's Wedding
Priya and David's Wedding

Sofia concentrating hard
Priya and David's WeddingPriya and David's Wedding
Priya and David's Wedding

Yash, Alisha, Vivek


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb