Melbourne to Windy City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
May 26th 2011
Published: June 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

The flight to the US was a nightmare. Since I was seated next to a couple with a baby the steward kindly asked if I'd like to move to a spare seat elsewhere. The guy shafted me, as he seated me in the row directly behind 3 couples, each with babies who had lungs of iron and screamed blue murder all night. After a crappy 14 hour flight to LA with zero z's, there was a screaming two year old who tortured me on the 2 hr flight from LA to Denver. Denver to Chicago leg is a blurr due to being a total zombie by then.

Used the CTA train system to find my first hostel. The automated ticketing system is stupid as machines don't give any change. You need to buy something from a shop to get correct change first, before buying your ticket at the machine. Next day found my next hostel which was much better located in downtown. For my single day in Chicago, it turned on a foggy, overcast day, then later let rip with several massive downpours. My stupid umbrella didn't stop my pants from getting drenched half-way up my leg. People with no brollies were cowering under trees or in the foyer of shops & snapping up stylish KKK style plastic ponchos with hoods.

All my shots are rainy ones. Saw 'the bean/Cloud Gate' sculpture in Millenium Park, Lake Michigan, Buckingham Fountain, historical Route 66 sign for start of the route (probably the closest i'm going to get to the famous roadtrip). 'Magnificant Mile' upmarket shopping strip was pretty good even in the rain and I managed to keep my credit card from exploding.

Stopped for lunch in the food court of the 'Watertower' shopping complex on the strip and had my first experience of the mind boggling, artery-clogging American 'food'. Deep dish pizza (Chicago speciality) which is so deep you could almost dive into it, pumpkin flavoured ice-cream (what the??), peanut butter shakes. Since in Chicago I thought I should dump any good food choices and try out their signature Chicago Dog (a hot dog with a bunch of stuff on it but no tomato sauce and the mandatory mountain of fries). Food court had an interesting system where everyone queued for a ticket and only got let in when there was a free seat. You could then walk around the court and choose your meal which was purchased with your ticket/token. Then you just paid on your way out. Started taking photos of 'Crappy food I've eaten in US' - this will explain any weight gain when I get back.

Chicago architecture is amazing even if you're not into it. A few of the famous building I saw was the Wrigly Building, Trump Tower and a bunch of other buildings which looked impressive but not sure what they were!

Walked down Navy Pier which has ferris wheel, shops, cafes, restaurants, rides and amusements, boat tours etc. Imagine this would be a very nice place to visit on a SUNNY day.

Once the rain and fog cleared, people rushed to Willis Tower (formerly Sears Tower) which is the tallest building in the US. It has 103 floors and a Skydeck ledge. As everyone had the same idea, the 1 1/2 hour waiting was a wonderful experience. After standing in an endless, snaking queue like a herd of sheep, and being scanned for security and photographed (for souvenirs), you finally got to purchase your ticket. Then they put you into another queue before showing you a movie on the making of the tower, then another queue and finally 70 seconds in a lift to reach the top. by the time I got there I was feeling pretty pissed off in general. Told myself I couldn't be bothered waiting in yet another short queue to walk onto the glass-floored Sky Deck ledge but it was more to do with being freaked out by the drop.

Highlight of my only day in Chicago was seeing a real live Blues band at the famous Buddies Legends Blues Club (have to check, this name might be a bit wrong). This place had so much atmosphere and proudly displayed photos and other memorabilia of all the famous artists that had played there. Wish I could go again!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb