Bonaire Day 1--Are we there yet?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
June 13th 2009
Published: June 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We arrive at ORD around noon to catch our 2:00 flight to Houston. The flight was pretty full. Nick got the isle, I got stuck with the middle seat, and the window belonged to an unkempt U of C student who was eating a never-ending bag of McDonald's. He was reading Nietzsche's Geneology of Morals (which I was also forced to read, so I had some sympathy for him), but I noticed it was a library book and he was writing all over the pages. He kept infiltrating my area (our elbows touched on several occasions as he tried to commandeer the arm rest) and he had his laptop and papers all over my tray table (that ended when I almost spilled my coke all over his computer). The greatest insult that I suffered from this smelly, unshaven boy was that he sneezed on me. I felt droplets people! But I survived his attempt to infect me with his H1N1 sneeze.

Then we had a six hour layover in Houston.

It wasn't too bad, besides being so anxious and excited to get to Bonaire. We watched two movies, one was Borat, which became somewhat of a recurring theme throughout the trip. More on that later.

11:30pm and we're finally on the plane for Bonaire! We land at 5:00am so I'm trying to sleep. I am a picky sleeper. But I have two blankets, two pillows, earplugs, just Nick and me in the isle, and I got the window seat. It should be good. Except everytime I manage to pass out some body part falls asleep. My arm. Ok I'm asleep again. Now pins and needles in my leg. Now I'm asleep again. Nick moves and wakes me up. Thank God the sickly U of C student is not on this flight eating his McDonald's. The worst part is the family who thinks this would be a great flight to bring a 5 year old on. The poor kid kept screaming. It was probably the worst flight of my life. But we landed safely.

Bonaire has a tiny airport and we exited the plane onto the tarmac. We were finally in Bonaire!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb