Chicago Slip and Slide


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 10th 2006
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hotel Downtown Chicago



When people tell you that Chicago is the windy city they aren’t joking. A couple Octobers ago we were stuck at Ohara International waiting for a connecting flight to DC to visit family. We never made the flight that day due to bad weather, so we had to find a place to stay in Chicago and wait out the storm.

I was lucky to book a Chicago hotel suite at the Whitehall Hotel which is this historical hotel that was really nice. The staff was really cool and we were like one of five people getting the last suites available. We were stuck in the hotel with nothing to do, but watch TV and hang out all day waiting for word from the airport.

Being vegan it was very difficult to eat even though they had an Italian restaurant, Chicago was so snowy it was hard to get to the restaurants. A few delivered and I tipped them generously, but a couple of times I had to suit up and head out to pick it up.

On one occasion the wind had picked up so bad on my climb to the top of a street that I ended up sliding down the sidewalk on my back. I would say I slid about a hundred feet before I hit a parked car. I got up and dusted off the snow and proceeded to pick up the food.

After getting the food I returned to the same steep street and started my decent down. It was harder going down than up. With the wind helping me along I unknowingly went from walking to jogging then to sliding and of course falling. The food was wrapped in plastic inside a paper bag so it was good. As for me I had to walk another 2 blocks with wet shoes and gloves.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb