Second City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 1st 2009
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mary/Mandy in a new cityMary/Mandy in a new cityMary/Mandy in a new city

Where haven't we been?
In a way Chicago is my second city, or maybe it's Cleveland. I'm not sure yet. There is something about revisiting a the city where I grew up (figuratively) that makes me wonder. I'm not sure if it's just the water, or the fabulous food at brunch or the awareness of it's people. Chicago reminds me of me. In a way it's not reality. Everyone is pretty fabulous in Chicago. There are too many great restaurants, cool stores, beautiful and accepting people, ample public transportation, that doesn't happen everywhere, I know, I have been/lived many "where's"

This is a combined blog effort of my last two visits to Chicago. Both pretty great, both too short. This last one felt like such a transition. Milissa is leaving GVA, our school where we taught with together for two years, and Jena graduated for the Chicago school of Psychology this weekend. I remember when they both started this path and now Jena is a Doctor (!!) and Milissa is a department chair of a new school. When did we grow up? This trip was also a chance to catch up with Mary and watch my two worlds (chicago and china) collide. It was great to connect pieces of the goodness in my life.


I think because Chicago is made up of people who are transplanted from all over, that is where the need for dependent and strong relationships grow. It's hard for me to leave Chicago because I want to bottle up all the good and take it with me. But on my way out, I realized that I am done with Chicago. At least for now. Because as Megan so poignantly pointed out. "You might be done with Chicago, but Chicago may not be done with you."


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Chicago's beanChicago's bean
Chicago's bean

It's such a tourist site that I always avoided it while I lived there, but technically I'm a tourist now...and it's so cool.
Sunday spiritsSunday spirits
Sunday spirits

What do two girls who don't have to work tomorrow do on Sunday?? Hmmm.
The glow of a good dinnerThe glow of a good dinner
The glow of a good dinner

Maybe it was the giagantic meatballs, or the two pints of gelato, but I really think it was just the good company and good conversation that made the cold weather melt away
dear friendsdear friends
dear friends

I had to hit up the archives for this picture, because I forgot to take a picture of m&b, regardless of the picture they both (along with stella) have a place in my <3.
our accomdationsour accomdations
our accomdations

relaxing while we both are living high class for the weekend.


Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb