...now it's my turn...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
July 5th 2008
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here I am, sitting in the O'Hare airport with my wonderful momma, while she insists that I set up a travel blog before I get on the plane. I'm not sure what my internet accessibility will be, but I hope this will work out. More to come later.

After a few weeks that I didn't quite expect and a very long "three and a half hour drive" to Chicago, I'm on my way to Ghana, West Africa. As of now the trip has three phases: first I'll be a "WWOOFer" (volunteer through World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms) for a month on a farm outside Accra, then meet up with my teacher Nani Agbeli and a few other students from Lawrence University and UW Madison for intensive study of drumming and dance at the Dagbe Cultural Center in Nani's home village of Kopeyia, then one friend and I wish everyone else a safe ride home as we set out for a few weeks more of adventuring.
But, who knows what will happen.

So, with a backpack, my trumpet, a sore nose, and an open mind, .... I'm outta here

I'm really excited that this is happening

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb