Twas the Night Before Christmas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
December 24th 2007
Published: December 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In preparation for tomorrow's feast, and because I'm a terrible cook, I made a batch of stuffing today as a trial run. It wasn't too bad, the texture and consistency were OK, but I must have added too much salt, as it made me want to vomit as soon as I put it in my mouth. Good job I did the trial run.

Dan didn't have to work, so we spent the morning and afternoon buying last minute bits and wrapping presents, before heading over to Chris' place where we were spending the night. I had my festive Christmas tree shaped hat on, which made me feel happy if no one else, and we set to work preparing some of the food for the next day.

At around this point, I got a phone call from some very drunk friends of mine back home (and a sober Darrel). There was a lot of shouting in the background, but the general gist of the conversation appeared to be;

1) Merry Christmas
2) We are drunk
3) Bowzer is still a twat

Still, it was good to speak to everyone, and I had a rare pang of homesickness. But couldn't dwell on it because there was stuffing mix to make, eggnog to be drunk (surprisingly nice, especially if mixed with JD) and the Princess Bride to be watched. Not the same as being back home for Christmas, but a damn sight better than being stuck in a hotel room.

Advertisement



4th January 2008

We, the drunk.
Yes, we did call you. And yes we were drunk. And yes, Bowzer is still a twat!

Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb