How Time Flies! (None in the Bush)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
December 25th 2007
Published: December 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The last entry was nearly ten days ago. I was sitting in the houseboat, staring at all the Stuff, procrastinating, wondering what I should take, what I could live without... The trip to Kentucky was pretty much uneventful, and the flight to Chicago went well. My guitar was lost, found and returned within 24 hours, none the worse for the wear. So far so good... almost.

My laptop, the one I just spent money to give a new keyboard, battery pack & power supply, has decided it will not switch over to battery power, essentially rendering it a small desktop machine. If I can't use it as a laptop, its use to me is greatly diminished while traveling. Less than 7 hours away from the time that I'm to leave for the airport on the trans-Atlantic flight, I'm still not sure if I should leave it here for my family to get it fixed and bite the bullet on $70+ to ship it to Dakar, take it with and use it as a glorified desktop machine, or ask my sister to sell it off and buy another one when I'm settled in at Dakar. Fact is, on the road we aren't often able to use a Wifi hotspot with our laptops, even if we do have them. I just can't see me using foreign language keyboards to write articles.... So... Decisions, decisions, decisions... I suppose a computer in the hand is better than none in the Bush, but I confess I was kinda welcoming not lugging the beastie all the way from Agadir to Dakar (1200 miles) on the over-land route. I suppose I'll let you know when I find out what I've decided.

My hosts for the Scotland visit are recovering - Bruce from his heart attack, Anne from the one she nearly had at him having one. The visit will be a bit more sedate, I suppose, but I'll enjoy it all the same.... as I look forward to returning to Africa.

I guess that's all for now. The next entry will probably be from Scotland, and include some pictures. Til then, I wish you Peace and Creation!

J

Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb