Ho Hum! Another day in the saddle 62mi, 3400’


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Carbondale
June 11th 2018
Published: June 12th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Today was a great day from the start!

I have never understood the physiology, but some days one just feels stronger than others!

It was a hot humid day, but that did not seem to matter. I felt very strong from the start and it never changed.

When I began this morning, I was thinking I would put in two short bicycle days to arrive in Carbondale tomorrow as Bruce and I had planned.

But once the ride began, the legs felt so darn good I just kept peddling away, and a mere 62 miles later, I arrived in Carbondale sopping wet but feeling terrific!

And the best part was that I could get a cold ? at the end of the day!

I stopped for a bit in a Subway restaurant when I saw a touring bike sitting outside. Enjoying his lunch was a fellow traveler named Robbie.

Robbie is an architect on sabbatical to do a bicycle tour. The interesting thing was that we both had encountered the same bicycle touring folks along the way!

There are the Carters, a husband and wife with three boys who are on a triple and a tandem carrying all their equipment. Then there is the Englishman named David, who flew to the States to do the Trans Am, and the South African making the same journey; the young woman named Eileen Beanie who just graduated with a MBA and decided on a whim to ride across the United States with no prior bicycle experience.

And on it goes.

It has occurred to me that each of us are on our own journey for a multitude of reasons, but everyone of us is eager to share stories about our travels. Robbie and I had a good time talking about the rain, the hills, the places we stayed and the interesting people we have met along the way. I feel I am part of a special fraternity of bicycle adventurers!

Tomorrow I will go to the bike shop and make sure they get Bruce’s bike put together for his arrival in the PM.

Hopefully we can be on the road again Wednesday morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

This is called the Lighthouse Spiritual CenterThis is called the Lighthouse Spiritual Center
This is called the Lighthouse Spiritual Center

About half way from Venice to Carbondale, Ill
Little Grassy LakeLittle Grassy Lake
Little Grassy Lake

This is part of a Nature Preserve just south of Carbondale, Ill.
Road passes the Grassy LakeRoad passes the Grassy Lake
Road passes the Grassy Lake

This is about 10 mikes south of Carbondale


12th June 2018

Bravo Bob
You’re just getting stronger and stronger . Enjoy the cycling with Bruce. What a good friend...
12th June 2018

Thanks for checking in
It is so good to hear from you. I miss you and the other TT riders. See you in a few more months. Bob
12th June 2018

Have a radio headset along?
Hey Bob, Looks like a great trip. If you need a jazz fix, try www.kboo.fm/jazzintheafternoon Shows are archived for 2 weeks. Don't break a leg, and enjoy - with thanks for the updates, Bob Riddle
12th June 2018

Hi Bob
I just read your post about Sonny Fortune. I will have to miss that one since I don’t ride with a headset. I’ll be tuning in again come September. Best regards, Bob S

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb