The low down on the itinerary


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii
December 14th 2013
Published: December 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Summer 2013


It's time I fill you all in on my plans for this summer. I will be jet-setting again around the world (quite literally) for the next two months, visiting three new and vastly different countries.

Since those reading this blog are from around the world themselves, I will try to be sufficiently clear and entertaining.

So, what's on the agenda first?

SEATTLE, USA

I am going to Seattle to visit Joel, who is on his internship with Amazon (quite the little nerd hey!) I will stay with him and his lovely Aunty and Uncle (who I was lucky to meet earlier this year on their visit to Australia).

How can I sum up my expectations of Seattle? .... COLD .... I think that does my thoughts justice. I hear that there is snow forecast too - maybe a white Christmas is in store? Also- hoping to visit the Boeing factory and the Smithsonian!

BANGALORE, INDIA

On New Year's day I will head off to India for a humanitarian project with the 40K Foundation (http://40k.com.au/). 40K is setting up education "pods" in the villages outside Bangalore. These pods are after school programs to supplement the student's appalling public education. They use android tablets to deliver the curriculum, with the students working in groups of three to progress through the topics.

The vision is to make these pods into social businesses, so that they are financially sustainable, and no longer depends on philanthropic giving. As part of that vision, 40K is busy establishing a jewellery making business in one of the quarries (https://www.facebook.com/rokaproject?filter=1) and a tour company to take Westerner's through the villages outside Bangalore.

By now you may be asking, why is Sheree telling me all this? Well, I will be going across in a group of 40 students to work on these businesses. My team will be establishing a new education pod in a new village, from scratch! All in a month! I encourage you to go have a look at the 40K website to see what its all about.

DOHA, QATAR


My lovely Aunty Aletta lives here, so I will be stopping by to enjoy her company for a couple of days too. I have never been to the Middle East, so am excited to see what it will be like.

Any tips from anyone who has been there before?

CONTACTING ME


If you feel like contacting me, I will have internet access almost all of my trip. Email me at sheree.venter@outlook.com Well, I hope you all enjoy reading these posts as time goes by, so that y

Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb