Day Four - Pearl Harbour


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii
October 30th 2012
Published: October 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

All day coach tour of Pearl Harbour - what a great tour. Went to the USS Missouri memorial, which is a battleship, and on whose deck the Japanese surrendered the war to the allies in 1945. Amazing to be in the same place as such a momentous histoical event.Pacific Aviation museum was next. I don't care for planes at all, but the tour guide did a great job of engaging everyone. I got goosebumps at some of the stories.USS Bowfin submarine - amazing how cramped everything is, especially the sleeping quarters. I can't imagine how anyone taller than me would be able to sleep comfortably.Next to the Bowfin there was a memorial for the 52 US submarines lost in WWII with the individual stories of each sub and the names of those on eternal duty.USS Arizona memorial was last, where 1177 men lost their lives during the Pearl Harbour attack. Over 950 still remain on the ship, and some survivors who pass away choose to have their ashes returned to the wreckage, so they can rejoin their team. Really good tour. Very interesting. Finding it very difficult to find food I actually want to eat here. I never want to see a burger again in my life. There are no supermarkets that I've found. I'm desperate for a piece of fruit and some cereal. I'll attribute the Orbs of Oahu ghost tour to day four, even though it started at midnight. A four hour tour of multiple locations which have spiritual history. I don't really want to dilute the experience by talking too much about it, but I have no doubt that we experienced paranormal activity. Some of it was really quite scary. I have a raging cold. US cold medication is as ineffective as the NZ kind. Off to the beach to try and dry the cold out.

Advertisement



1st November 2012

Cold remedy
How about introducing your cold to Hard Mike? I'm disappointed that he hasn't made it into your stories so far...
1st November 2012

I caught up with hard mike briefly the other night. The new love of my life is Michael (he's my handbag). I can imagine hard mike and my companion NyQuil won't get on so well...

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1021.7kb