Our last "Free" day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
January 31st 2009
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today is my sister's birthday and I called her in Yakima WA this morning to wish her HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU. It was good to talk with her and say we'll be back in Longview soon.

John and I decided not to go on any of the suggested planned excursions. Maybe we're just a little tourista-ed out? Instead, we went to the Ala Moana shopping center on THE BUS for a little "retail therapy". We bought David a T shirt from the Crazy Shirt store and I found some shell earrings at Hilo Hattie's (a store I'd been wanting to check out). Then we had lunch at the Makai Food Court and saw Claudette there. So we ate together. All of us took THE BUS on the makai side back to our hotel.

We realized this would be our last chance to swim in the ocean at Waikiki Beach so we'd better take it. John and I quickly got ourselves together and walked out to the beach (two blocks). It was a beautiful sunny day and not too crowded on the beach. We both got into the water (with reef shoes on for protection from the rocks under the water) and enjoyed jumping the waves. It was fun and reminded me of my childhood days swimming in the ocean at Carrona Del Mar and at Montara with my Mom. I'm really glad we decided to spend the afternoon jumping the waves at Waikiki. It was great!

Later the Bar Fly 5 met in the lobby and went to dinner at the Tiki Bar & Grill which had become "our place" by now. The food was quite good and we all enjoyed ourselves with good conversation and many laughs. It was a sort of farewell for our Bar Fly 5 sessions.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0865s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb