Hawaii


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
December 8th 2006
Published: December 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

At home in Manoa ValleyAt home in Manoa ValleyAt home in Manoa Valley

A bed is always better than a house!
After logging out of the internet in Sydney, i boarded my plane. Shock horror i had my lovely 42below vodka confinscated.

"... sorry you can not take that liquid on the plane"

You have to be kidding! I was quite dark and felt like hijaking the plane on that basis. But refrained... as that was about as negative as it got. I was fortunate enough to be picked up by my knowledgable, amazing, as Wendy would say "all american girl" tour guide, Sarah.
Sarah and I met in Maui and she visited me in NZ and so i knew she was going to make every effort to accomodate me.

I was staying in her beautiful flat, with 4 her 4 flatmates. Sarah had set up a bed in the living room (no couch, a REAL bed) for me.
Steve, another guy who was staying got the couch. *fist pump*

30 Nov. i spent wandering around Waikiki a bit and met the flatmates. It was great to watch, I met Erin whilst Wendy was estatically celebrating that her brother was engaged whilst Sarah conversed on the phone in the middle. It was quite a comotion. That pretty much
Muddy after waterfall Muddy after waterfall Muddy after waterfall

Ridonkulous mountains behind.
summed up the flat. Unfortunately Jen and Julie were not present at this time... but it was entertaining as it was with 3 letting loose, let alone 5.

1 Dec. Sarah and I went for a hike and jumped off a 30foot waterfall/cliff. So nothing too major *cough*. Teddy makes some good burgers espicially after hiking for 2hours.
We went out for a few drinks. Before i knew i was in a bar called Nashville.
Included free of charge was country music, navy seamen and some crazy 2step dance. Or maybe 3 steps...? By this stage i had Juger so it was over. The only thing to slow me down was deep fried cheese sticks...? Low in fat I am sure.
Ended up dancing at a bar until 4 with Julie and her friend Summer. Met a bouncer from Papa2toes. We were tiiight as we yarned about how his cousin plays for the Warriors...that means he has cousins that are bigger and more scary than him. Hard to believe.

2 Dec. i got up and had to decide whether i wanted to go to a College football game or see Kings of Leon and Pearl Jam play... hmmmm....
Diamond head beachDiamond head beachDiamond head beach

Some kind of waka. Dunno where the paddles are. Stupid pakehas.
let me see.
Wicked concert man, the Kings were insane and then Eddy and the boys cranked out an emotiuonal 3hour set of Pearl Jam's greatest. I was so spent with 3 hours of everlasting elation that i had to have a few more beers.
Plus, I could not show weakness towards Julie (Sarah's flatty). I took her to closing time the night before, I thought maybe she would crumble on the rebound. Apparently not.

3 Dec. ran up a waterfall, up the valley from the flat. Watched a beautiful sunset at a manmade beach on the West side with Sarah and snuck in to a spa at the resort. You have to love the small talk in the spa "oh so where are you frooommm?" "oh colorado... it must be could there"... yeah no crap!
After a lovely dinner which included 2 bottles of Californian Pinot Gris, Julie and i ended up at Waikiki again for a few more to celebrate um, me leaving? We convinced several people that i had won lottery in NZ and had flown Julie from the mainland to meet me. Classic. I love messing with tourists.

4 Dec. went to Maui to
Big night out with Summer and Jules. Big night out with Summer and Jules. Big night out with Summer and Jules.

Maybe at Nashvilles bar? No clue no f'n clue!
meet Arid. Ran in to some old mates from the place i worked in 2004. Arid put me up in a hotel which was kick ass and so i had some time to recover from Oahu.

The rest of the time spent on Maui was all about relaxing, surfing and whatever else you do in Hawaii... i watched the sun set on the beach listening to music. Totally nostalgic. Alot of time to myself and recover from the punishment Julie put me through in Honolulu.

7Dec. I am currently sitting in Stef's beautiful home in Philly. Her mum just made some cookies. Great to be chilling out. When i mean chilling, there is a 1degree C wind chill outside.
Brrr! More soon... going out for a few beers "after work" with Stef.

Pics soon, i have to find my cables.

Special thanks to Sarah (and flatties), Arid and Stef for their efforts in putting me up!!

Brent
























Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Jen in the kitchen. Jen in the kitchen.
Jen in the kitchen.

Sarah's flatty cooked us eggs and pancakes in the morning! Legend!
Jules & meJules & me
Jules & me

This pic was taken by a guy Julie and i convinced that i had won the lottery and flown her out to Hawaii. Tourists humph!
Arid & me Arid & me
Arid & me

Ioa Valley Maui. Best way to wake up is have an icey cold bath in an untouched valley. Love this pic. I had a mean gut that day... too much beer in Oahu i suspect.
View from my hotel roomView from my hotel room
View from my hotel room

Note the presence of the large cruise ship.
Horrible sunsetHorrible sunset
Horrible sunset

Taken from the beach in Lahaina. Sun is setting over Lanai island
Welcome to PhillyWelcome to Philly
Welcome to Philly

Stef, welcomes me to the HILLton hotel. What a pimp house.


10th December 2006

Wicked Blog Bellz Keep em coming :)
15th December 2006

Hard at work!
What a great way to pass some idle moments at work! Man Hawaii sounded cool.....not jealous at all of your pearl jam concert....not at all bunch of tossers Cant wait for the south america entries!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb