Honolulu, Hawaii


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
November 23rd 2014
Published: February 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Osaka, Japan to Honolulu, Hawaii


On a recent business trip to Japan, I was fortunate enough to have a long layover in Honolulu. I did not want to just sit in the airport, so off on an adventure I go. My first thought was to go to Pearl Harbor. I had heard and read about Pearl Harbor most of my life, and I wanted to see this place that is such a landmark of World War II.

I take a cab to Pearl Harbor, and once I arrive, I am just thrilled to be there. The first thing I remember seeing was a sign welcoming you to Pearl Harbor. I am sure that on that day in 1941 that everything was just rocking right along, and then the catastrophe of war was upon them. As I checked my day bag I had with me, paid my admission, and begin to walk around, I get this sense of amazement as to where I was. I look at the monuments, memorials, and just start to try to imagine how things were on the dreadful morning. I could imagine that right where I was standing there was just mad chaos, as people were probably confused, scared, and just wondering what the heck was going on.

I purchase a ticket to visit the USS Arizona which was sunk in 1941, but still physically on the bottom of the ocean floor. You can take a tour and view the parts of the ship that are still visible. You have to wait in a que, then you go into a little movie theatre to watch a short clip concerning the events that led up to the war and what transpired on December 7th, 1941. You learn a bit about the USS Arizona, and then you depart to load on a boat transport that takes you to the memorial. While riding the transport, I was just sitting in my seat looking around wondering about that dreadful day. I imagine you just could not hide from what was happening if you were there. Just seemed like no where you could go.

We get to the USS Arizona, and we depart from the boat and make our way inside the memorial. You can lookout on both sides, and one side looks more into the harbor, and the other side has a real good view of the sunken ship. The amazing thing is that there is still oil that is seeping out and bubbling at the water surface. There is a memorial of the people who lost their lives on that day, and the names go from ceiling to floor over the entire wall. Quite amazing, and a nice tribute to the ones who lost their life. After our allotted time there, we board back on the transport boat, and go back to the harbor. I walk around a bit more, grab some lunch and souvenirs, and decide I want to see more of the island.

I was pondering what I should do, so I go to the cab stand and get a cab. The driver asked me where I wanted to go, and I told him that I really wanted to see the beach area. He offered to drive me around for two hours at a flat rate, and stop with me along the way to explain the area and take photos. As this was on my dime, I really wanted to get the most for my money. What a bargain in my mind, for I really could see more this way, and know the total cost for the transportation. Off we go. I am driven by Waikiki which is a beachfront neighborhood of Honolulu, on the south shore of the island of O'ahu. Waikiki is best known for Waikiki Beach, the white sand beach shoreline fronting the neighborhood. After this, we drive around the next hour to hour and a half just looking around, and we made three to four stops along the way for me to get out and look at the landscape as well as take pictures. From my perspective, this was the best option for me doing this way. I could not have seen as much as I did, and it would have cost me a lot more money if I just went place to place in different cabs. I think I made the best decision.

My time was up, and back to the airport I had to go. Unfortunately, this was a short layover, but never the less I was thankful that I had the opportunity to visit even if only for his short time. I sincerely hope to come here again some day and spend more time vacationing and exploring this magnificent place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 123, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb