Type AB positive


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
July 13th 2008
Published: August 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm just testing this site out, I'm not even close to departure. I'm starting to feel very type A; I have nearly a month and a half before I fly out of my home country over the pond, and I've pretty much planned out every last detail. I've even printed out train schedules and timetables from points A through D. It's funny, every time I take that personality test, I show up type B, but only by a point or two. But how accurate are those tests anyway?

The majority of my trip's planning has been through helpx.net (and craigslist...) and after viewing some ads for wanted companions, I realize how unlike the traditional free-spirit, backpack-through-Europe, go-wherever-the-wind-takes-me kind of person normally embarks on this sort of journey. Most of the generous helpx homes that agreed to take me on for two weeks were surprised when I emailed them three months ago. "Well, thank you for your interest, but September is very far away, and we're really not sure if we'll need anyone then...you freak." Lucky for me, these French folk have grands coeurs, and chose to overlook my freakishness.

Is it a character flaw that I can't be comfortable going on this trip without meticulously planning all the details way in advance? I am inclined to say "no", however I'm sure many would disagree. In my opinion, spending hundreds of dollars, and running the risk of showing up in a foreign country with nowhere to stay, and no money to do anything makes you a freak. Chaque un a son gout.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb