Ready, Set, Go....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Kaua'i
August 24th 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Raven!Raven!Raven!

I find that these blogs are more exciting with pictures so I'm starting with my favorite dog in the world.
So...packing, along with a variety of other pre-travel preparations, has begun at last and it finally hit me yesterday as I was packing my mosquito net that I will be in Africa in less than 2 weeks. Yikes!

I've spent the last 3 1/2 months here on Kauai, and the summer has flown by, just like it always does. It seems like it's just when you think you have all the time in the world -- to work, hang out, go to the beach, learn how to surf and do all the other amazing things I had planned to do in May when I came home -- the days slip by and before you know it it's August 24 and I am supposed to leave in 4 days....? ohhh mannn. So I've decided these last 4 days will be packed with as many fun Kauai activities as I can possibly manage. Day 1: kayak wailua river/waterfall. Maybe I'll fit a surf lesson in there...hmmm...doubtful but we'll see.

On a different note, through a bizarre coincidence I've managed to make a friend already who will be traveling to Senegal with me. Earlier this week I sent out a general email to the group who will be going to Senegal, just introducing myself -- where I'm from, where I go to school, my major, etc -- and the next day I check my email and there was a letter from this girl from my group. Turns out her family is coming on vacation to Kauai and arrived yesterday. So we met up last night and spent a good hour and a half talking about lots of different things, but mainly our upcoming adventure. She's really nice, quite the world traveler herself, having already spent a semester in the south of France as well as visiting a variety of other countries around the world. I'm even more excited now that I have a friend going with me!

Well I must be off, the kayaks are calling my name.

More to come...



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



24th August 2006

Full of Feedback
Well - Ashley my dear - I'm at my computer all day long, 5 days/wk, so you'll be hearing from me a lot! In fact, if your mom doesn't respond, I can always run across campus and give her any messages you like. I'd love to meet your dog someday! She/He's adorable. Bon Voyage!
25th August 2006

Greetings
Ashley: Vola...managed to proceed through the commands of blogdom...Thanks for your message with your summer news and your finding of a new friend. I look forward to following you through the next months of your travels. Love Grandma Elizabeth
28th August 2006

LIH
Hope your trip goes well-----we're looking forward to hearing from you while you're in CMH. I'll be anxious to see if this works----I may need some coaching. Love,GPJ
7th September 2006

Miss You
Honeypot, I miss your beautiful face..........but I'm very excited about your adventure. Keep those blogs coming. I pray for your safety EVERY DAY. LY...GQ

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb