Summer 2018


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Savannah
May 30th 2018
Published: May 30th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Thought it might be time to take this up again, sooooooo here I am overnight in Savannah. Planned this trip in January. Since my favorite grandson is graduating on his birthday, it was inevitable I would be heading north. Decided after all the trips I made that this one would be slightly different. Instead of pushing myself as far as I could each day, I would divide it into three days. Was kind of worried after this weekend’s subtropical storm because the weather channel predicted the storm would follow me all the way. Thank goodness they were very wrong. Day was overcast, but no rain. Went to the Crab Shack on Tybee Island for dinner and treated myself to dungness crab. Really neat restaurant with an alligator lagoon out front. No big gators though, longest was less than five feet and they actually sell food for them. The entire place is a giant outdoor deck overlooking a marshy grassland intersected with small creeks. Dinner was great except that the wind was blowing and I kept having to push my hair out of my eyes. Went for a pleasant walk on the beach afterwards. I still prefer the west coast. Sand here is tan, the water is cloudy and even at low tide there are holes at least twelve inches deep. Not really a place to stroll along in the water. Lots of broken shells. Many looked like shark’s teeth, but weren’t, just badly broken shells. So now I am safely ensconced in my motel room three miles from downtown. Am planning a little touring in the morning. Until next time, sleep well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.164s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010.2kb