Fake reviews, Alphine Coaster, Tallulah Falls and Chocolate


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Helen
January 18th 2021
Published: January 18th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Surprise, surprise, we woke up and we were not sore. Today we decided to hang around Helen, GA and check out Tallulah Falls.

I did find out about a place called Brasstown Bald. It is the highest point in Georgia and it is about 19 miles from Helen. You can drive up there but the information center is closed. We had not made plans to go here today but I thought I'd pass the information along. Website: Brasstown Bald Visitor Information Center (usda.gov)

Breakfast

Cheryl had read all the reviews of all the breakfast spots on the way up to Helen and she landed on Village Crepe Haus. The reviews boosted of awesome crepes and the website spoke of famous Prosecco mimosas Sunday. You had me at mimosa. I’m in.

The restaurant was in the middle of Helen which was walking distance from our hotel. It was a quaint little shop with maybe 4 tables. I had my eye on a Belgian waffle. I mean this is little Germany so a fluffy big waffle with pecans with a side of mimosa was the way I wanted to start my day.

Long painful story short, breakfast sucked. The waffles were soggy and premade and not fresh at all, the croissant sandwiches had weird meat but Timmy did like his crepe. So, if you happen upon Village Crepe maybe stick with the crepes. By the way, we are still waiting on our hash browns. UGH!

We take our mimosas to go and head onto the next task at hand. Getting these kids on the Helen rollercoaster.



Georgia Mountain Coaster

Website: Home - Georgia Mountain Coaster

After the most overpriced ridiculous breakfast we walk back to the hotel we grab more jackets and load the car with snacks again. You just never know where you will end up so snacks are important.

Even though the roller coaster is across the street we drive over because we are going hiking after the roller coaster.

According to ‘The Goog’ (Google) this roller coaster is a German-made Alpine rollercoaster. I can’t tell you how high the coaster is mainly because I hate heights and everything is enormous to me. Anywho, it is high and has turns and you are in a little cart and it is not mechanical like a Disney or Sea World ride. You are actually in control of the speed.

At the time we went the ride cost $16 a person and if you choose to ride a second time it is half price. Cheryl and I reluctantly decide to ride one time and the kids all want to ride twice.

Into the line we go. We listen to a brief safety message and are instructed on how to control the cart. As I said, you are in charge of the speed of the cart. If you want to go super slow down the ride you can or if you want to go full speed go for it. I do not even want to think of how Timmy is going to manuever down this ride.

As I am going up I hear Cheryl screaming as she is going down followed by Brooke and Nicole. Timmy and I laughed as they sailed down the ride. I went at about a medium speed. You are in a little cart and I am not a little person. How I didn’t fall off I will never know. That ride is pretty cool.

The kids rode it a second time and were properly frozen so we warmed the car up and headed to Tallulah Falls.

Tallulah Falls

Website: https://gastateparks.org/TallulahGorge

Tallulah Falls is 35 miles outside of Helen. I have never been before. I have been to Anna Ruby and Amicalola Falls but never Tallulah so everybody entertained me by agreeing to go on another unknown adventure.

The unfortunate thing we learned on the way to Tallulah is that there was an easier way to Sapphire (refer to last blog). I swear I am getting an Atlas map and keeping it in the Armada! Google sends us on the craziest routes.

According to the world wide web Tallulah is ‘just as spectacular as Niagara Falls but Niagara had a better publicist’. Timmy and I have been to Niagara so I have go to see this!

We roll up to the Welcome Center and again, we are not the only ones on a Sunday adventure so clearly we are in the right place. We get a map from the Welcome Center and head to the trail. I wouldn’t say everyone was super hyped about this adventure but I was grateful they were appeasing me.

There is a North Rim and a South Rim you can walk around. We have no clue what any of this means but looking at the map we figure out we have to walk over a suspension bridge to walk around both rims. Cheryl stopped at the term ‘suspension bridge’ and the silent walking began. So onto overlook 1A then 1 and then 2 and then the stairs. Oh the stairs. There were 347 stairs down to the bridge. Our daddy told us looong ago what ever goes up must come down so as we are walking down we are already figuring out how we are going to get up.

As we get closer to the suspension bridge we can see it and we can see it moving. Oh heeeelllll no! Cheryl looks at me and says if anyone does that while I am on the bridge I will yell at them. Duh! Me too. If y’all know me neither of us have any problem parenting anyone elses children and we appreciate the favor in return. Back to walking down 300+ stairs.

We safely walk across the bridge as it sways and we didn’t throw up. To our surprise you can go down another 200+ stairs to the Hurricane Falls. Guess where the kids want to go. Hurricane Falls. Here we go!!! I am calculating in my mind I now need to walk up 500+ stairs. This is a stupid idea but we are knee deep in and there is no way out.

As I slowly walk down the second set of stairs I see this young lady sitting on one of the benches in one of the landings and she is texting on her phone as tears stream down her face. I instantly connected with that feeling. Maybe she thought she could get away to a quiet space to feel her feelings or she had a loss or she broken up with her partner or she got bad grades. Idk. I just looked at her for a brief second and hugged her in my mind because walking 400+ stairs and over a suspension bridge in the wilderness is where I’d like to be to organize my thoughts. I didn’t say anything to her but in my mind I told her it would be ok. We are all going to be ok.

Back onto Hurricane Falls. I make it down and we take pictures and rest for a bit.

As we head back up and I see this couple carrying their two young children down to Hurricane Falls. Um, I just asked Timmy to hold my jacket there is no way I would be able to take babies down and back up over 500 stairs. God Bless those parents.

Nothing super exciting about our remaining trek at Tallulah. It was about a 3 miles trek that took us under 2 hours. No one cussed anyone out so I call that a win. We all made it to the car alive and we have the magnet to prove it.

Brooke passed out drinks and snacks and we headed back to Helen for shopping and dinner.

Helen

Mission: Chocolate!
We walk back into downtown as our first stop is Hansel & Gretel Chocolate Shop. So many people are in the shop so it’s a little intimidating. We wanted fresh chocolate so we get up to the counter and buy chocolate covered cherries, different types of fudge, pecan pralines and peanut brittle.

We roam around a couple more shops. Nicole found a cat clock that she wants. You know to old one with the wagging tail and eyes that move back and forth. We will put that on the Christmas list.

We found a cute Honey Bee shop. It’s called Honey on the Hill. www.honeyonthehill.com
They have really cute candles. They ‘clean the air as they burn.’ I bought one. Curious to see how it burns.

We decided on dinner at The Troll Tavern and Restaurant. It has all sorts for food so everyone could find something they wanted. It was good food and I liked sitting by the River.

We head back to the hotel. Brooke passed out and Timmy and Nicole went swimming.

Cheryl and I found a funny movie and we called it a day. That was another good day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb