Georgia on my mind!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Covington
July 2nd 2014
Published: July 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Thanks Delta!Thanks Delta!Thanks Delta!

Nice way to take the sting out of a long delay :)
I haven't been to Covington since our epic Decades Birthday Bash four years ago (quite a few of us began new decades around the same time so we celebrated with a big party) and that was entirely too long to go between visits! After several lengthy airport delays, I finally arrived in Atlanta and instead of passing through, I actually left the airport! The first day was pretty low key, filled with catching up. Thursday morning, I took the girls for mani/pedis then we met up with the adults for lunch on the Square. That evening, we headed up to Stone Mountain for the Laser show. In all my visits to the Atlanta area, I'd never been to the mountain. The views from the top were amazing and the laser/fireworks show was lots of fun. We spent the 4th hanging around the house and then hanging around the pool. There may have also been an extremely intense game of Monkey in the Middle that got pretty physical and lasted far longer than anyone could have predicted. We found a great spot on a side street to watch the downtown fireworks from a golf cart and played with sparklers in the driveway.
"My" room"My" room"My" room

So nice to see upon arrival!
Saturday morning we got up early to have breakfast at IHOP on our way to see Maleficent at one of the newer movie theaters nearby. More family was visiting that evening so we grilled out and watched some of the World Cup. Sunday was our big adventure day- kayaking on the Chestatee River! It was my first time in a kayak and I'm proud to report I did not fall in! I also avoided any significant sunburns! One of my favorite things about visiting Covington is it always returns me to my love of reading almost anything. During this short trip, I read the second in the Hunger Games series along with If I Stay, both of the young adult genre. Some other highlights of the trip included learning to play Phase 10 Twist (I won!) and Quirkle (I lost!). Of course the real highlight was all of the quality time spent with some of my favorite people in the world. *As someone who is very mindful of personal privacy preferences, I kept names out of this post, not to be intentionally vague, just respectful of those who don't know I'm blogging!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Pedis!Pedis!
Pedis!

My toes may not have patterns, but my polish changes color in the sun!
Confederate MemorialConfederate Memorial
Confederate Memorial

Crazy how big this is!


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0871s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb