"the time has come" the walrus said,"to talk of many things.."


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Columbus
January 23rd 2009
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

"of shoes and ships, and sealing wax, of cabbages and kings, and why the sea is boiling hot, and whether pigs have wings" -Alice in Wonderland-

Two things in particular have stuck with me from my childhood, as far as memorization goes, the line above, and the preamble to the constitution from a speaking contest (which I won somehow) from the 4th grade...Thanks Ms. Lavender.

Sometimes I feel my writing goes along the route of Alice in Wonderland....(yes that quote had a purpose, kind of) random, topsy turvy, some rabbit trails, and hopefully entertaining in the end. Here goes it.

Ok, so I feel a tad lame writing again in a travel blog, when here I sit, still in Georgia packing...oh well. The thoughts bouncing around in my head at this point are: "should I roll my clothes, or fold them? I am taking too many vitamins with me...but I need them..but they are heavy. I want to take my cowboy boots..Im being excessive, be practical! Art supplies, just my watercolors..and markers, and crayons, crayons melt... ok, I have to carry all this...so just the watercolors? Europe has art supplies, I'm not going to the north pole...yet. Did I buy the right power adapter thing? ipod, must update ipod." I'm neurotic, I know. I want to be a purist and bring only the bare necessities...but I think I'd go crazy without some kind of creative outlet, and my music. I can do without, I know I can, its simply a choice. *and exhale*

Trying to pick out a good "travel" book. Any suggestions?

In my thoughts on travel, I have decided "money belts" are silly. Lived in Chicago and LA for bouts and never thought of pinning money to my "intimates" for safety reasons...why would I in London or Paris? (This coming from the girl who just wrote an entry about a creepy man at the park). I understand the idea of keeping your important items on you at all times, keeping locks on your pack..etc. but an uncomfortable "underneath-your-clothes-fannypack" seems unnecessary. Please tell me if I am wrong, I am a novice at this whole thing, and not ashamed of being called out as so publicly. These are the issues in my life, people, "Contemplations of the Money Belt: just a scheme to scare Americans into buying stuff they don't need for, "safety's sake" or necessary items that a silly girl in the South should know is legit". You be the judge.

Last day at work tomorrow. Pizza party in my honor, not even joking. Rad.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb