Reflections on the trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
May 10th 2006
Published: May 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well there really isnt too much to tell about the rest of my trip. I went from the Grand Canyon to just east of Amarillo in one day then the next day went from Amarillo to Atlanta. It was a lot of driving but to be honest I didnt get tired at all driving. I was supposed to go to the Petrified Forrest in Arizona, but after the Grand Canyon, I was ready to go home. And besides, what could top the Grand Canyon.

Of all the places I visited, Tucson was the best. I mean you can see all these great places, but nothing tops meeting a really special person. In second place is a tie the Grand Canyon for the hiking the last day and surprisingly, Carlsbad Caverns for its otherwordly caves. Third place goes to Chiricahua. I would go to all these places again in a heartbeat, and I hope to someday soon.

It took me many hours to plan this trip, but it was well worth it. I had somewhat of a schedule, but enough flexibility to do what I wanted if something came up. I went well above my budget, but my budget was really conservative to begin with so I really dont feel bad. Besides, its a vacation. I dont regret driving either as some people said I would. I really enjoyed driving and seeing a part of the country I'd never seen before.

Before I went on the trip, I quit smoking. I never smoked a whole lot...maybe 5 or 6 cigarettes a day and more on the weekend if I'd go out. Before the trip I also started working out a bit and lost almost 10 pounds over about a month before I left. While on the trip, I lost another 6 pounds. In a week back in Atlanta, I gained back 8 pounds (unbelievable!!!!!), but am still working out although I know I wont get back to where I was on the trip. I dont have any high ambitions, but just to be in somewhat healthy shape.

The only thing I regret is not doing this trip sooner in life. I guess when you reach my age (35) you start to realize your days of being young and able to do anything are quickly coming to an end so you better get on getting on. Thats what I think I got out of this trip, the feeling that I want to continue on trips like this and not waste time in front of the TV or what not and actually get out and experience as much as I can.

You'll definitely be seeing me on here again with more stories as I'm already planning in my mind possible trips to take in the near future. I hope everyone enjoyed the blog and got a little something out of it.

Peace and Happiness,



Andrejs

Advertisement



28th September 2007

Thanks
We are headed out next month from San Antonio to Las Vegas and want to see some of the same country that you traveled through. Thanks so much for your comments and wonderful photos. They were a great help in planning our trip! (I'll avoid the dirt road at Chiricahua!) I especially appreciated your reviews of the hiking trails. Keep on traveling!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.2kb