Days 95 to 98 - Washington


Advertisement
Published: October 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After a hellish ride down, it was off to my hostel via a minor miscommunication with the taxi driver - I say “I” you think “R” I really understand what Louis Armstrong was talking about in his “You say potato, I say potahto” song.

Washington is a great place for travellers that like to travel on the cheap. The museums are amazing and most of them are free. You really need more than a couple days here just to take in all that the museums have to offer. My hostel was located close to Chinatown - all my hostels seem to be located next to Chinatown.

Seeing as it was such a nice sunny day, I decided to walk down the White House - the big O still owed me a game of basketball - before moving onto the Lincoln Memorial. As you can imagine, the area around the White House was quite busy. I was surprised by the large number of people walking around the Lincoln Memorial though. It took me a couple of seconds to realise that I had actually wandered into an anti-war and pro-job/education rally.

I caught the subway across the Potomac River into Virginia the following day to have a look at the Pentagon and Arlington Cemetery. I wasn’t able to take any photos while at the Pentagon due to security restrictions. Arlington Cemetery is quite a sobering place to visit. Most tourist traps around the US are noisy; it’s the total opposite here. You could seriously hear a pin drop as you walk past the endless headstones.

I did make a trip down to the town of Alexandria (in Virginia) to have a wander around the cobblestone streets and take in some oysters ..... mmm oysters.

More pictures can be found in my Flickr album.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Time to Get Your Rally On!Time to Get Your Rally On!
Time to Get Your Rally On!

Yup, walked straight into an anti-war rally.
Time to Get Your Rally On!Time to Get Your Rally On!
Time to Get Your Rally On!

So there's the Lincoln Memorial on Day 1 with me at the other end of the Reflecting Pool. It was impossible to move in any direction. A lady actually feel into the pool, I may or may not have bumped her in.
Ford's TheatreFord's Theatre
Ford's Theatre

Used for various stage performances beginning in the 1860s. It is also the site of the assassination of U.S. President Abraham Lincoln on April 14, 1865. After being shot, the fatally wounded president was carried across the street to the Petersen House, where he died the next morning.
Arlington CemeteryArlington Cemetery
Arlington Cemetery

The resting place of John F. Kennedy and Jacqueline Lee Bouvier Kennedy Onassis.
Arlington CemeteryArlington Cemetery
Arlington Cemetery

The resting place of Robert F. Kennedy.
Arlington CemeteryArlington Cemetery
Arlington Cemetery

The resting place of Edward Moore "Ted" Kennedy.
Arlington CemeteryArlington Cemetery
Arlington Cemetery

The Tomb of the Unknowns.
Arlington CemeteryArlington Cemetery
Arlington Cemetery

The resting place of Joe Louis the world heavyweight boxing champion from 1937 to 1949.
On LocationOn Location
On Location

The house from "The Exorcist" in Georgetown.
On LocationOn Location
On Location

The Exorcist Steps in Georgetown, Washington. I nearly fell down the steps at one stage - must be the work of the evil spirits ... or the beers I had during lunch.
On LocationOn Location
On Location

The bar from "St. Elmo's Fire". It's actually located across the street from the house in "The Exorcist".


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb