Back in the USA - Last Blog


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Delaware
November 10th 2006
Published: November 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I was settling into life in New Plymouth. I was working at the motel, I had just started a new job at Lonestar (not the same chain as in the US) waiting tables, surfing heaps and just found a place to do jiu jitsu. About 3 weeks ago I got an email from my sister informing me that my dad had been diagnosed with lung cancer and had spread to his stomach. The doctor has given him less than a year to live. I did the only thing I could think of which was to buy a plane ticket and get home as fast as I could. I quit my jobs, closed my bank account, sold my van and came home.

After being on 3 different planes for a combined travel time of over 20 hours, I arrived in Philadelphia on Oct. 31. Back in dirty Delaware where it all began. I'm disappointed that I put off going to a bunch of places because I was saving it up for when people came to visit. I can always go back but I think it might be a while until I get back there.

So this is my last blog. If anyone is coming back East for the holidays shoot me an email so we can catch up. Talk to everyone later.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb