Intro


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,

This is going to be my spot to post everything cool and/or not cool about my trip to HK. As most of you know, I will be leaving Monday at 10am on a non-stop 16 hour joy ride from JFK on Cathay Pacific. My seat is a business class seat so that means I am pretty excited about the first part of my trip. I am going to be picked up by a car service at 5am, drive the three hours or so to JFK and then be on my way. My first few posts will probably be of my flight over and getting checked in to the hotel, but from then on hopefully the adventures will be a bit better. Keep in mind I am going there to work primarily, but that doesn't mean that I won't be able to sneak away for some pretty awesome day trips. I have downloaded the Fodor's Travel Guide for Hong Kong and Macau which has about 15 pretty awesome day trips. Phone's are extremely expensive to call to the states, texting is not really an option, and even the internet isn't free (but it is the cheapest option) so this is going to be the place to keep up to date. Please comment often. I am also going to put out a challenge to you all: Find something for me to do! If you post it here, I will do my best to get it in and take a few pictures of it to show you. As you may imagine, I will be taking lots of pictures of the airport, and food as those are pretty much my two favorite things! I hope you all enjoy it and I look forward to hearing from everyone. Please feel free to share this with anyone.

I will probably send my next post from HK.

Ian

Advertisement



9th July 2014

Have an awesome adventure!
Hey Ian - so glad you're posting on this blog! Have an amazing time - I'll try to find some cool things for you to do. Enjoy it all! :) Vic
9th July 2014

Excited for you...
Looking forward to following your trip. Stay safe, Z
9th July 2014

Beerpong
I believe there is a quote in the movie Beerfest "I was playing ping pong on Ding Dang... I was in a real high stakes game in an opium den. Turns out, the guys I beat weren't the type of guys who liked to lose..."... My challenge for you Ian, is to play ping pong in an opium den..... Seriously, have fun buddy and don't do anything I wouldn't do.
10th July 2014

Hi
Okay, hope we can keep up with you this way -- you know how technically challenged we are.
11th July 2014

I accept your challenge
Beer and Music festival. July 19-20. Lan Kwai Fong www . lankwaifong. com
13th July 2014

Have a safe trip and enjoy every moment! ?
This blog is an awesome idea, Ian! I'll pass on the link so we can all live vicariously through you! Lol I know you're there to work, but have a fabulous time as well!
13th July 2014

Have a safe trip and enjoy every moment! ?
This blog is an awesome idea, Ian! I'll pass on the link so we can all live vicariously through you! Lol I know you're there to work, but have a fabulous time as well!
13th July 2014

This will be a fantastic opportunity. When I was in the Navy, Hong Kong was the highlight of every cruise. We had a short three days there in 1961 and 1962. It was British then and, I know,m a lot different now. How long will you be there and what is the job you are working on? Business class with the lie flat seats, will make the 16-hour flight almost pleasant. With all of our trips to Europe and New Zealand, the best that fits our budget is economy plus, which helps a lot. On our African Safari trip to Kenya, we bit the bullet and went business class. Being able to lie flat and sleep helped a lot on comfort and not being so tire when we arrived.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb