Rinos Italian Restaurant, Trinidad, Colorado USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Trinidad
September 13th 2020
Published: November 16th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Raton Pass scenic overlookRaton Pass scenic overlookRaton Pass scenic overlook

Fisher's Peak (on left skyline)
It was afternoon before I started driving up the steep grade on Interstate Hwy. 25 from Raton, New Mexico to Raton Pass at the Colorado State line. Just a short distance (about 100 meters) into Colorado was a nice scenic overlook with a good view of Colorado on the main trail of the Santa Fe Trail connecting Independence, Missouri with Santa Fe, New Mexico. The settlers from Missouri would see the very distinctive Fishers Peak and know it was time to turn South uphill over Raton Pass to get to Santa Fe, New Mexico. Fishers Peak can be clearly seen from the overlook as a bald butte on the skyline.

I made the twenty mile downhill to the historic Trinidad, Colorado. I checked into the very convenient Trinidad Inn & Suites for good service (and a good location) on Main Street...part of the main trail of the Santa Fe Trail. There I quickly showered and got ready for my main splurge at Rinos Italian Restaurant in time for the very good live entertainment starting at six PM. Since I would be drinking alcoholic drinks I walked about 800 meters to the restaurant; following the Santa Fe Trail on Main Street.

I got seated in Rinos in time for the live entertainment singing good folk music. (Some of the notable people of Denver have second homes in friendly Trinidad; and also have enjoyed the services of Rinos Restaurant.) Rinos had a special deal on large pina coladas, so I had a "few" nice cold drinks. The food was very good in Rinos; but I was here for the drinks and good singing. The waitresses there treated its diners as very special people making for a very enjoyable experience.

After my good time at the restaurant I had a fair walk back to my hotel. It was a tough walk back (for this old man) to my hotel but I enjoyed some night photography. The combination of two days driving and the pina coladas made for a good nights sleep.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

walk to Rinos Restaurantwalk to Rinos Restaurant
walk to Rinos Restaurant

Felipe Baca House
Rinos Restaurant mirrorRinos Restaurant mirror
Rinos Restaurant mirror

two ladies singing folk music
walk back to Trinidad Inn & Suiteswalk back to Trinidad Inn & Suites
walk back to Trinidad Inn & Suites

Coal Miners Monument Holy Trinity Catholic Church steeple


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb