This and that


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Loveland
April 22nd 2016
Published: June 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 40.3927, -105.074

Back at home, it is f-ing cold, and the only birds I hear are the Canadian geese in the backyard.

Reading back over my blog, I realized there were a couple of things I neglected to mention that I thought you might enjoy. For example, on the 14th, the evening we spent hanging out with Annie and Norman, Annie asked if we felt the quakes? WHAT???? Turns out there were 3 minor earthquakes in this area today and we didn't even notice! She felt one but not the other two. Boy, I feel gyped.

Very early in our vacation, I think it was the first full day we were here and went to the farmer's market, I realized when we got home that I'd lost my driver's license. Dang! Not only is that going to be a hassle when I get back to Colorado, but now Jeff has to do all of the driving this trip. I do have a photo of my license on my IPhone, but don't know if that would be acceptable proof down here.

I've lost my Kindle Fire - either left it in the casita (and I've written Kyle and Diane to look for it) or it is currently getting a lot of Delta miles. Huge bummer.

There seriously were hummingbirds everywhere. They mysteriously vanished though when Jeff positioned himself outside to get good photos. Neither Jeff or I had ever seen this before but several times we saw hummingbirds land on branches and just sit for a bit. Jeff thinks they were full of nectar and taking the equivalent of a nap in the recliner. LOL

This was our fourth trip to Costa Rica, and the first trip that we have not seen monkeys. They were around, we know, and we also knew exactly where to go to see scads of them, but never made the effort. On the plus side, we didn't see any snakes either. Butch and Margarita had had a coral snake in their driveway before we arrived but it went on its way.

We are both covered in mosquito bites.

We bought postcards in Zarcero for 23 cents a piece. Postcard stamps to the US are $1.25 each - we're mailing these from home!

Water from the sinks, showers and washing machine, the gray water, drains out of the house and down the gutter outside in the "street." The toilet, or black water, goes to the septic tank.

Costa Rica feels more and more familiar and home-like to us and we are anxious to return in the near future.
Thank you for coming along with us! I hope you enjoyed the blog.

Love,
Jane and Jeff



Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb