Feelings on leaving CO for a year to teach English


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Lakewood
October 9th 2010
Published: October 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Can be summed up by a few choice words including but not fully limited to the following: dread, scared as hell, nervous, excited, anxious, anxious-excited, scared (oh wait, I already said that one), um....happy, sad, confused. A LOT of different emotions - but at this point mostly fear and scared feelings.

I have spend 3-4 years wanting to do this though - and if I didn't take this opportunity now - where I put in the work to get 2 degrees (one a Master's of Education in Career counseling) and then also a CELTA certification....I didn't put all that work in for nothing> There is no better time in my life to do this. I am 25, and the older I get the more I will be pulled into other responsibilities and relationship issues which will make leaving all the more complicated.

I need to go to "find myself". I need this to finally fly out of the cooko's nest so to speak. This little birdy needs to test it's wings - whether it's ready or not.....here Thailand comes!!!!!!!


EEEEEEEEEEK>...I'm nervous...scared....excited.....all that stuff. But me - I mostly get negative emotions before something big like this v. more positive ones - which is all good - it's just how I was made, so I gotta deal with it and I have been my whole life - so no biggie there.

But yeah - I get to leave my old life behind and totally start completely FRESH in a country where nobody knows me and I don't know a soul either. I will be like a kindergartner all over again - cause I can't even sing the Thai alphabet. But the older I get the less I will want to do this trip - so that is another reason that I have decided to do it.

And I've always wanted to "Flip my pancake" (i.e. brain) and experience another totally different culture, plus I tend to excel in challenging environments where I am completely stretched to my out limits of uncomfortability - and this one will surely do that!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb