Coke Ovens of Cardiff - Glenwood Springs, CO


Advertisement
Published: October 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

In the early 1880's, James Landis homesteaded the confluence of the Roaring Fork and Grand rivers that would become Glenwood Springs.

Early settlers Isaac Cooper and Walter Devereux saw the potential for Glenwood Springs to become a highly regarded destination and developed these amenities into a world class resort. The arrival of the railroads in 1887 brought the first trainloads of tourists to enjoy all that Glenwood has to offer. The addition of the Vapor Caves, Hotel Colorado and Fairy Caves provided a total package for the well-heeled traveler. The local economy was not only fueled by tourism, but also coal mining, farming and ranching, commerce and outdoor recreation. A visit to historic Glenwood Springs will take you back in time to enjoy all of the amenities that were formerly reserved for the well-to-do.


Cardiff Coke Ovens



An important part of the mining history of this area, the Cardiff coke ovens (circa 1888) were used to superheat locally-mined coal to remove any impurities. A company town grew up around the ovens, where upwards of 250 people resided. There was a company store, post office and school. Remnants of the coke ovens, on the National Register of Historic Places, can still be seen today



N 39° 30.263 W 107° 18.63313S E 301343 N 4375299Quick Description: Late 1880-1920s coke oven located in Cardiff, COLocation: Colorado, United States

Location: Co. Rt. 116, approximately 1.5 mi. S. of Glenwood, Glenwood Springs, CO
Period of Significance: 1900-1924, 1875-1899


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



6th June 2014

I did a job at a ATT Cell site just 50 Yards from them.
I didn't even know I was near the Caves. When I completed the job I had, I was loading my truck up and glanced to my right. I saw a long line of small caves. All were in a nice row along side the bottom of a hill. I went over and saw the sign explaining what was there. It's was truely amazing how good of shape they are still in. If your in the Glenwood Springs Co. Area. Try to go by and see them. I'm glad I did.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb