Profound, brilliant glory


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Fort Collins
September 2nd 2009
Published: September 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Colorado lure continues as I've moved on to Red Feather Lakes, home of the Shambhala Mountain Center where meditation, reading and simple work tasks are the way of life. For six(ish) weeks I’m living in a community of hundreds as a fall volunteer given the task to take down canvas tents in preparation for the winter. Colorado winter at 8,000ft is too harsh for the tents to withstand so each spring and fall volunteers show up to take on the challenge (it is, however, quite unchallenging so far) of setting up or taking down the small housing tents and the large community gathering tents.

The center owns over 600 acres of undeveloped, stunning subalpine land with a maze of trails and paths throughout. The evenings and weekends offer ample freedom to explore, wander and find overlooks for watching the sun set. Yesterday, Gale (my tentmate), Sylvain (my friend) and I hiked to a rock overlook and spotted a juvenile black bear across the valley. The wind was in our favor and the bear had no idea we were around so we watched it eat, walk about and relax behind a stump. A few days prior I took a drive
colourscolourscolours

Intricate painting on the Stupa
into town and passed a marshy swamp with a large moose not 30 feet away! My music and muffler caught his attention but he continued to graze and drink while I snapped pictures in that annoying touristy way. My first moose sighting out west -- I was pretty pumped.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

home sweet padma 53 homehome sweet padma 53 home
home sweet padma 53 home

Gale and I (and as of late a small mouse) stay here


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb