Thanksgiving


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Fort Collins
December 1st 2007
Published: December 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sorry it's taken awhile for me to do this. There is a blizzard outside (we're expected to get ten inches between today and tomorrow) so this is a good time to sit in front of the computer for half an hour or so.

Last week was a lot of fun. Mom, John, and I flew to Colorado the night before Thanksgiving, and stayed in Fort Collins until Sunday afternoon.

The Thanksgiving dinner was at Rose and Jim's farm; they were very kind to have us there with them and their family. It was fun to see extended family of extended family. 😊 Because of the summers I have spent in Fort Collins, I have gotten to know Uncle Alan's side of the family pretty well, and I appreciate that.

Mom finally saw Grandmama's new house, and she seemed to think it was a really great place, just like the rest of us.

Friday, the D. kids, Uncle Alan, John and I went to Old Town for the afternoon to walk around, look in stores, and go to this awesome coffee shop called The Bean Cycle. It's a coffee shop combined with a used book store. We looked in a drum store, Ten Thousand Villages, and a really interesting art gallery underneath Ten Thousand Villages with mostly photography. I really liked the stuff in that gallery; I guess even though it was photography, it could probably fit into the genre of surrealism.

Saturday, John and I hung out at the D. family's house. Andrea and I made sheets of paper out of recycled paper scraps using a blender, which was cool. Next semester for my "fine arts" requirement (we need a fine arts class from two different departments, so I need something other than a music class) I'm taking something called Handpapermaking and Book-Binding. Andrea has now helped me get ahead of the class by teaching me how to make paper. 😉

Saturday night, Andrea and I made stir fry at Grandma's house, and some of us played Dictionary; Max and Mom organized stuff in the garage; Grandmama watched her KU vs. KS game... the game didn't turn out quite the way we wanted it to, unfortunately... 😞

The next morning Mom and I went to church with Grandmama; afterwards we went to the D.'s house to hang out until we left.

It was a short but great trip.

I'll be writing again in January! Orchestra is taking a pretty cool tour this year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The "grown-up" tableThe "grown-up" table
The "grown-up" table

I was about to take a picture of the other table when everyone stood up! :( :(
This canary has a gorgeous songThis canary has a gorgeous song
This canary has a gorgeous song

I'd never heard anything like it before.
Roasting chestnutsRoasting chestnuts
Roasting chestnuts

This was the first time I had ever tried roasted chestnuts; they were really good.


2nd December 2007

HI!
It was really nice seeing you!!! Thanks for all the pictures!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb