Waterfalls


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Estes Park
June 29th 2007
Published: June 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The view from Heather's PorchThe view from Heather's PorchThe view from Heather's Porch

Just to make you jealous...

Waterfall!
Today I went up to the Wild Basin area where Robbi and her parents are staying for the summer. Her dad is retired but he is a seasonal park employee and works with the water in the national parks. The whole family is spending the summer in a cabin inside the park. It is absolutely amazing at their place, all you have to do is walk out the front door and you're ready to hike around the park.

We were going to try to get to Calypso Cascades before Robbi had to go to work but we didn't quite make it there. Apparently we were so excited to get moving that we did a rather poor job of reading the signs. Instead of taking the path to Copeland falls that would lead to Calypso Cascades we took the dead-end horse trail to Copeland falls which was on the other bank of the river.

The view of the falls was great and it was nice and cool with the water spraying up. We didn't even realize that we might be on the wrong trail until we had to limbo under a pretty sharp tree in the middle of the
Our path to the waterfallsOur path to the waterfallsOur path to the waterfalls

I was actually pretty glad I took this picture after we realized that we were not on the right trail... we used it to figure out that we can't read trail signs :)
path. Eventually we just decided to go exploring and found a great little waterfall (we later found out that it is called Hidden Falls). The waterfall wasn't very strong, but it was a lot higher than Copeland Falls. I later found out that people go ice climbing on Hidden Falls because it is a fairly easy climb.

After the hike I went back home to relax and read a book by the lake for the rest of the afternoon. We spent the evening on the porch of the Stanley with a homemade veggie tray and just chatted with friends for a couple hours. Tomorrow Dillon is going to come into town and we'll hopefully go for a hike.

PS: Look for the video icon at the top of the entry to watch my waterfall movie


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Mountain Lions!Mountain Lions!
Mountain Lions!

Apparently if you get attacked you're supposed to fight back... that sounds scary, I'd almost rather play dead!
Look- I'm hiking!Look- I'm hiking!
Look- I'm hiking!

With my trusty squad 43 shirt!
Trees and CloudsTrees and Clouds
Trees and Clouds

Welcome to Colorado...
Yay bunnies!Yay bunnies!
Yay bunnies!

I haven't seen any in the park, but there was a baby one outside Heather's place I sure do miss Thumper
I sure do wish I knew what these were calledI sure do wish I knew what these were called
I sure do wish I knew what these were called

I bought a bag of Colorado wildflower seeds to plant at home, so hopefully these are in there
Looking up through the Aspen TreesLooking up through the Aspen Trees
Looking up through the Aspen Trees

Aspens are officially my favorite tree, the way the leaves rustle in the wind in beautiful. Heather says they're really pretty in the fall when they turn yellow. I guess it's a small consolation to have them on my comforter at home...


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb