Denver


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
May 16th 2006
Published: May 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi

Another red hot day in Denver; but spent a while indoors taking in the limited tourist options.
After getting up early I walked across downtown to the State capitol building which at least is distinct from all the other skyscraper towers in design and to see what time the art museam and the colorado history museam opened; which was an hour or two away. But in the meantime I got chatting to a mexican employee at the art museum (whom was cleaning outside) all about life here in Colorado and about the massive range of poverty and wealth in this country and I have seen alot of people living in teh streets in Denver only metres away from financial skyscrapers this morning.
I later visited the Colorado History Museam which was great, lots of interesting stories about the past 11,000 years when the first homo sapiens lived on the land right up to the 19th Century wars between the various indian tribes and the whiteman which has almost made the indians extinct.
I was looking for somewhere to eat and I stumbled upon a British Pub! Of ALL THINGS. And suprisingly it was pretty cool, they made fantastic real ale right in the cellar and no tacky crap either. I then went back to the history museam to listen to a lecture about a local female legend, which was really interesting.

So, I better get packed for tommorow for my final leg of the outward journey to Casper - I thiking clocking up about 5200 miles from Barnsley.

Cheers

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb