Boom. Bikes.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Castle Rock
March 15th 2017
Published: June 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 39.3759, -104.86

Something that we were really glad for, when we followed the Tour de France, was our decision to rent bikes to take with us.
Many times, it made way more sense to just park the campervan, and bike into/around town -- and it caused less stress (driving round some of these tiny roads can cause people who very much love each other to get a little snippy).

And though we're renting a regular car, not a campervan, it still makes sense to have bikes. Plus, the idea of biking around the Italian countryside has a certain appeal, no?

After sending inquiries to several bike shops or rental companies that I found online, I only got responses from 2.

One quoted me a rate well over $1,000 for the use of 2 bikes, plus one-way fee (as we want to pick up in Umbria and return in Milan). Ooof.

I've just received my quote from the delightful Ruth at Randotrek, who has quoted me a much more reasonable number. So I think I can put that last little piece of our itinerary to bed, and rest a bit easier.

We leave in just under 2 months, so things are looking relatively settled. Loose ends include travel insurance (must do that sooner than later) and finalizing details with our personal tour guides in Rome and Milan.

Oh, and learning a bit of Italian (I'm sensing a developing theme here....).



Advertisement



Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1003.6kb