I found the Faraway Tree!


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Saved: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post


up until midnight trying to decide what to see
you need at least a week I got advice from a really helpful Argentinian guy who suggested I visit the Sequoia forests
finally got an itinerary together: sunrise at mirror lake followed by a hike. Drive through the valley via Tunnel View and a quick visit to Yosemite Village. Then on to the Sequoia forest to see the giant trees and hike up to the famous "fallen tree" and after that, sunset at Glacier Point. The alarm went off at 5am and I reset it for 6, then 630 then 7, then 730 finally set off at 745 but what the argentinian didnt tell me was that his "much easier way" was actually another 40 miles

I found the faraway tree!
hiked up through the Sequoia forests
couple tree


oh Jens roomate Joanna just came in with her new miniture daxon. He's utterly adorable, absoultely tiny and called Winston! Yet another doggy I can put on my "hanging out with the pets" list

tunnel view
driving through the valley

walk to falls

not much time before sunset and the drive up to glacier point can take over an hour. After circling the Yosemite village and visitor centre area a few times i finally found the road to glacier point, however, half an hour later the signs changed from "Galcier Point" to "Yosemite Village" I ask you, how did that happen? how did i drive in a circle for half an hour and not notice? The sun was setting and my dream of doing a handstand off the ..... cliff was fading fast. Luckily a park ranger (the first id seen of the day) was ideling by so i asked him what happened, he told me to follow the signs for fresno! okay dokey. I did as he said and after geting stuck behind a really slow RV fro the best oart of an hour i arrived at glacier point and with 15 minutes toi spare before sunset i headed straight for the cliff


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb