love wine country!! (Sonoma)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Sonoma County
February 25th 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

middle of nowhere, sonoma...middle of nowhere, sonoma...middle of nowhere, sonoma...

i know, pimping ride.
Hello,
I am new to this blog... and am a travel bug so very excited :D

I went to Sonoma Valley last summer and I just need to share with you guys how amazing it was. It was one of the most beautiful places I have ever been and is located just outside of the beautiful city of San Francisco. You do need to have a car (which means that one sorry person cannot engage in all of the wine-tasting activities). Pick the first winery (just look online) and pick up a map at your first stop. Most people are very friendly and will point out all the hot spots to check out. I heard that Sonoma was half the price of Napa but just as beautiful and with equally fine wine.
Has anyone here been to both Napa and Sonoma? Maybe someone else could make a comparison between the two.
Nonetheless I highly recommend Sonoma.

ok, I just dug out my old-fashioned journal travel book... and here are the names of the wineries I visited and recommend: Bella Vineyards, Ferrari-Carano, Forchini, Kendall-Jackson (this is where we got our map) Make sure you go early - most of these places close at 5pm and between the driving and enjoying the beautiful scenery it takes a long time to jump from place to place. Has anyone else been to any wineries in the region they can recommend? I'd go back to Sonoma in a heartbeat. PS if you don't own a swanky corvette or convertible, i recommend you rent one for the drive. It makes all the difference.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb