California - Sequoia, King Canyon, Yosemite & Shasta Lake


Advertisement
Published: March 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I spent a week and half in California again on my way back to Washington. Last spring I did not get the chance to visit Sequoia/King Canyon National Park or Yosemite so that was my focus this time. I stayed in Visalia which is close to Sequoia National Park and I lucked out when I found out they had just opened the road between Sequoia and King Canyon that day so I was able to do the whole loop through both. The trees in Sequoia are amazing to see along with the mountain scenery. It is interesting to see the Sequoia as they change from young trees to the huge elder trees. King Canyon still had quite a bit of snow and the views were well worth the drive.

I next went to Midpines which is a tiny town up in the mountains 7 miles past the small town of Mariposa. I had to drive to Mariposa to use my cell phone as there was no cell service at the RV park in Midpines. Beautiful scenery and a great place to stay to visit Yosemite, just a 26 mile drive. Yosemite was absolutely beautiful with the waterfalls amazing and the creeks full of roaring water. All the snow and rain that they got this winter was putting on an amazing show for all the visitors. Gail came and met me there for a couple of days. She said that the waterfalls were the best she had ever seen in Yosemite in all her visits. We had good weather for our day in Yosemite. The rain held off until we were done exploring. The next day it let loose with an incredible thunderstorm with torrential rain, hail, and lightening. I didn't leave for a couple more days and the weather improved before I moved on to Redding to visit Shasta Lake.

I was advised to visit Shasta Dam and take the tour to get the best look at the lake. The dam was impressive and the tour was interesting and free. I was staying in a great RV park only 9 miles from the dam so it was an easy trip. The scenery was beautiful but the clouds kept the top of Mount Shasta hidden.

It was now time to head into Oregon. I stopped in Myrtle Creek before heading on to Silverton which is about 20 miles south of Brandon and Jodie's house so I will spend the weekend visiting them and then head to Tacoma on Monday the 3rd of April and my adventure will be over. I have been gone for 13 months and will have traveled approximately 28,000 miles. I will be settling in the Tacoma area to be close to Tad and Heather and their families. I hope you have enjoyed following my travels as I have had wonderful experiences along the road.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Yosemite - Tunnel ViewYosemite - Tunnel View
Yosemite - Tunnel View

View Yosemite Valley with El Capitan, Bridalveil Falls and Half Dome
Yosemite - Tunnel viewYosemite - Tunnel view
Yosemite - Tunnel view

View Yosemite Valley with El Capitan, Bridalveil Falls and Half Dome


Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1119s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb