Goodbye my girls and San Francisco


Advertisement
Published: May 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Sad it was to leave my girls - I can say we shed a few tears as we loaded up my rental car and I drove off leaving them to catch their flight back to the UK. We have had a most wonderful time together.

And we had had a whirlwind 3 days in San Fran - we all fell in love with this beautiful city - in spite of it being cooler then we expected and very windy. Movies of California always make you think the weather is just perfect ... but I guess that's not the reality.

Suz had researched what to do and the Top Ten and we left it to her to sort us out for the 3 day plan. Immediately we got a hop/on/off bus with a 48 hour ticket which actually meant we could use it for 3 days... $30 -and we certainly got our money's worth using all three loops. So we were overe the Golden Gate Bridge, viewing the famous Lombard Steet and other STEEP streets which SF is famous for, cable cars , trolley busses, parks gardens , and some fabulous architecture...there is such a mix ...victorian embellishments and towers, art deco frontages and the modern skycrapers ( but not too tall). And there is a balance of business and residential in the city which feels really good.

Our Hotel was superb and in a great location so we could easliy pop back and forth to our rooms form various sorties. Suz had booked us an evening boat trip to Alcatraz ( it's now a National Park) on Thursday and that was really good - with an introduction by a Park Ranger followed by an audio tour inside the cells with recordings by former inmates and wardens and families who lived there... then there was a cou[le of talks again about attempted escapes and convicts life. Really a well organised and worthwhile experience apart from when I got separated from the girls and was wandering round the prison..couldnt find them and thougth "Help- I need an escape plan" ...and all the time they were sitting listening to a ranger- I couldn't see them through the crowd - me being such a shortie!!

At times we went off to do our own thing and mine was anoher bonus for this holiday as The Girl with Pearl Earring was on display at the art museum along with other Dutch masters from the Mauritius Museum and some Rembrandt etchings. I had seen an exhibition of Vermeer's women in Cambridge last year but the Pearl was not there - so that was lovely to see...very enigmatic. And this was an art gallery which had been destroyed in the earthquake so it is now rebuilt and is a striking building..with a tower and great views of the city. I had time to see Art of the Americas and a wonderful glass and craft exhibition too.

Of course we ate some fabulous food and loved our walks along Fishermans Wharf where we had our clam chowder. The sea lions bask on decks alongside the wharf so it's fun to watch their antics, clambering over each other for the best spots and pushing each other back into the sea.

And so yesterday as I said goodbye I have to admit I was scared about driving thru the city and over the Golden Gate Bridge - but you just have to bite the bullet sometimes and you have no choice if there is comething you want to do especially when you are on your own ...and once I was in the car and onto the streets it was actually a piece of cake!!! The headlands nroth of San Fran beckoned with views of the ocean , hilly , twisty bendy roads - but what joy to drive in a car rather than the RV...I did appreciate that. And last night I spent in a simple motel 6 at Santa Rosa ( bit of a comedown after the luxury of Hotel Donatello) ...the highlight of which was I got to meet two fellow travelbloggers Dave and Merry Jo who had arranged to meet me and very kindly took me for dinner...we had a wonderful evening getting to know one another - and some great food. So now I have two new friends and I am sure our paths will cross again...funny thing was when they asked me about whereabouts I lived in England they said they had stayed in Rye at an old hotel - so I said "The Mermaid"...and of course I knew Rye well.

So folks I am off up the California coast and will also get to see some tall trees I am told!!!

See you all soon.

Lv xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



19th May 2013

Really enjoying 'travelling with you' Lynne!
It's such a treat to read your blog - I really feel as if I am discovering new places alongside you! The pictures are wonderful, as always - but it's your comments that I enjoy the most. You description of the Grand Canyon and Monument Valley made me want to get on the next plane to experience it for myself....maybe one day! I'm glad you liked San Fran - I was there MANY years ago, and was pleased that it 'lived up to its press'. It must've been sad to leave the 'girls', as it sounds like you've had great fun exploring together. But, as always, you take the next step...and find the next thing to enjoy. Thanks for sharing your journey!! xxxx Jen
19th May 2013

HI LYNN HAVE REALLY ENJOYED READING YOUR TRAVEL BLOG AND YOU WILL BE MISSING THE GIRLS i ADMIRE YOU ON THE DRIVING FRONT ESPECIALLY AND BY THE SOUNDS OF THINGS YOU WON\'T HAVE ANY PROBLEMS. IT IS AMAZING HOW YOU CAN MEET UP WITH PEOPLE AND GENERALLY THEY ALL SEEM VERY FRIENDLY. WE ARE IN AUTUMN AND THE WEATHER HAS BEEN OK BUT SAD TO SAY WE HAVEN\'T ANY LITTLE TRIPS PLANNED AS YET COULD DO WITH A WEEK IN THE SUNSHINE IN OZ IN JUNE OR JULY HOPE ALL GOES WELL LOVE FROM JILL
21st May 2013

Memories
Another wonderful blog, love the photo, thank you Lynne, it brought back memories of our lovely time in France. Xxxxx

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb